You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Random Peppering of Comment Upvotes... and Time Zones and Changing Patterns

I will tell you this: part of the reason I make sure to at least read (and often comment) on your posts is precisely because you take the time to read and reply to the feedback!

I am too new to have noticed a decline in participation or a difference in time of day that I post, but I do wish there were a better alternative for my feed. So much so that I have started dabbling with JavaScript to try and design one. Too often I feel like I am missing out on something that got buried - and I only follow 40ish accounts!

Sort:  

Thanks!

Well, the discussion of how the Steemit "content discovery" tools are rather lacking was already going when I first got here... and that was January 2017.

The primary thing we're missing — and potentially also the easiest "fix" from a coding perspective — is to allow each user to put the people they follow into "groups" just like you can with your friends on Facebook and your followers on twitter. And it's up to you to create the groups in ways that are meaningful to you, and name those groups what you wish.

This would then allow us to create custom feeds "by category:" Perhaps things like "contests," and "photographers" and "crypto advice" or whatever makes sense. Then when you click on your group, it brings up a feed of most recent posts from people in those groups. You can even have an "interesting but inactive" group to check once in a while.

Nice idea! Yeah that would be much appreciated.

For the first pass, I’m basically just building out a “reading list” feature. So it gets populated from your feed, but you can save stuff to your list or get rid of it. Once I have a prototype up and running I’ll be sure to post about it!

Sounds awesome... sitting around and waiting for Steemit to "do something" is probably going to lead to an early grave...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50