Quick and easy Mediterranean style recipes for Steemians. Recipe 1: How to make Spanish Gazpacho for a hot summer day

in #recipies8 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

I am from Madrid and I will be posting quick and easy Mediterranean style #recipes  for Steemians that enjoy #cooking. This is my first and favorite #recipe

Gazpacho 

Gazpacho is a cold and refreshing tomato soup from Southern Spain.

Ingredients for Gazpacho

  • 6 very ripe tomatoes. Don't use green salad tomatoes.
  • 1 small peeled cucumber.
  • 1 Italian green pepper.
  • 1/2 fresh onion.  
  • 1 peeled garlic clove. I prefer garlic granules or garlic powder because they are softer.
  • A slice of country-style white bread (optional). Soak the bread in water. 
  • Salt to taste. I always use Himalayan salt. 
  • 2 tablespoons of vinegar.
  • 3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil. Must be extra virgin olive oil. 
  • 3 or 4 cumin seeds (optional). 
  • Optional Garnishes: croutons, finely diced cucumber and finely chopped hard boiled egg.

How to make Gazpacho in 15 minutes

Wash and chop all the vegetables. 

Introduce the vegetables into an electric blender and mix the ingredients at a high speed until smooth.

Add the slice of bread and mix again. You can add 1/4 cup of cold water if it is too thick.

Then add the olive oil, vinegar, salt, garlic and cumin. Blend again until it is completely pureed. 

TIP: I always strain the gazpacho to take all the peels and seeds off using this kitchen tool:   

see the results!

Pour the gazpacho into a large glass bowl and cover. 

Chill the gazpacho in the fridge at least for one hour. 

You can serve the gazpacho in individual glasses (just drink it from the glass) or in a soup bowl. For this gazpacho version I think it is much better if you eat it from a bowl with delicious toppings. 

Keep in mind that this is my own gazpacho version. A good cooker must know how to customize a recipe and be able to adapt it to her tastes and preferences. These recipes should be easy to cook for any Steemian user so not only they eat healthy but also they can quickly go back to #programming / #mining / #witnessing /posting/voting. I know by experience that time is important for Steemians. 

I hope you like it.  I am happy to share my tips and recipes with you on the #steemit #blockchain

Enjoy your meal Steemians ! 

Sort:  

Flagged for tag abuse:
"recipies","recipes","pizzaalternative","witnessing","recipe","mining","blockchain","steemit","quickrecipes","programming","cooking","healthyfood","introduceyourself"

wouldnt it be better before flagging somebody for tag abuse to try to talk to him? More and more people become invisible here on Steemid, because some flags made their reputation far beyond zero.
In general it would be good to be able to vote for tags on an articles.

I think I will start issuing a warning first.

Steemit is still in beta, we don't know the exact rules and how to play yet. I tried to edit and repost my post a week ago but the system does not allow you to change tags once it has been published.

You can edit the tags within the first 12 hour period, except for the first tag. That one is locked in.

It looks delicious. I am not the best cooker in the world but I will surely try it. Then go back to my programming asap. :-) Many thanks for sharing.

I hope you enjoy it. It's great for summer

Que rico, rico!!! yo lo hice ayer, saludos desde sevilla

Más españoles por Steemit

Nice one! I will buy the ingredients and try it soon :). Being from the UK, I have always been really interested by Spanish food.
I have tried some Spanish Gazpachos from the Super Market but I would really like to do my own.

Homemade gazpacho is completely different to the one you buy in the super market .-)

I have done it and it was fantastic! Thanks a lot! I will definitely do it again :)

Que rico! it is one of my fav spanish dishes. I will follow the recipe and I will let you know! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44