Weeky Homestead Photography Contest Entry - Yoghurt cheese with flowers & Chives

in #recipes7 years ago (edited)

Here's a photograph of my Yoghurt cheese with flowers & Chives with instructions on how to make it. It's really easy! This is my entry for this week's #homesteadphotography challenge by @knowledge-seeker. It was a tough one.

I didn't realize just how many photos of food I have until I started browsing through them for this challenge. I decided to share the prettiest thing I make. This is an item that really surprises and delights our guests (especially when I involve them in making it).

Yoghurt cheese with flowers & Chives.

IMG_6667-1170x780.jpg

This is a soft creamy cheese and is very easy to make. It is also very pretty. It is really delicious and a lot cheaper to make than it is to buy fancy soft cheese from the store. We get rave reviews and it's always the first cheese we run out of on the cheese plate.

How to make it

Most of the time spent making this recipe is passive (you hang it in cheesecloth while the whey drips out). The general idea is to take a high fat yoghurt, a sprinkle of salt and some herbs and edible flowers, mix the together and pour the mixture into a heavy cheesecloth (you might need to double to cloth), bundle it up and hang it somewhere so that the whey can drip out.

The full recipe is on my website. You can find it here.


Follow me at: @walkerland

You might also enjoy reading:

Eat Your Sunflowers- The many surprising culinary uses for sunflowers (including coffee).

The Homestead Kitchen - A little tour of our off grid kitchen.

How To Make Rumtopf (Rum Pot): Fruit Preserved in Rum

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

Sort:  

Looks delish! I make something similar with kefir sometimes :) Good luck in the contest!

Thanks :) I would love your recipe. I make keifer but often have more than I want.

I make kefir and just let it sit til it separates, then use like a turkey baster to suck up the whey, take out the grains, then strain out more whey with a cheesecloth. Add in salt etc. This is very tangy stuff!

I make kefir as well. Usually it doesn't last long enough. I may give this a try. Thanks for sharing.

sounds lovely! thanks for sharing :)

Sounds good!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @walkerland to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Hey, that looks delicious and its a great submission for the contest! I can see why it goes quick. Great Job!

Thanks so much for the fun contest @knowledge-seeker!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33