My Killer Guacamole Recipe

in #recipes7 years ago

Living in San Diego, we use any excuse for a BBQ, and I've somehow become the guacamole master. Every time I bring a batch of guac to a party, at least one person asks me for the recipe, so I'm posting it here. 

This recipe is largely inspired by the one by Alton Brown, with a few modifications I've made over time as I experiment and tweak things. I like salt and garlic a lot, and I like my guac to have a little more zip.

Ingredients:

  1. 3 medium ripe Hass avocados
  2. 1 medium lime
  3. 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  4. 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  5. 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  6. 1/2 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
  7. 1/2 medium onion, diced
  8. 2 small Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
  9. 5 large clove garlic, minced
  10. 1 large bunch of cilantro, chopped
  11. 1 large jalapeno, minced

Directions

Halve, pit and slice the avocado. I use an avocado slicer I found on Amazon for $8, and it makes scooping and slicing the avocado guts out an absolute breeze. (Seriously - I try to avoid single-purpose kitchen tools, but this thing is amazing.)

Place the avocado pulp in a large mixing bowl, and juice the lime over top. (This adds a nice acidity, and also prevents the avocado from browning while you work on the other ingredients.)

Add the salt, cumin and cayenne and mash using a potato masher or fork. You don't want this to be perfectly smooth, so make sure there are some chunks left in for texture. 

Add the onion, tomatoes, garlic, cilantro and jalapeno and stir to combine. I add about 3/4 of the onion in at once, mix it together, and then taste it and decide if it needs more. Too much onion can really overpower the guac, so I add more, mix it, and taste as I go until I hit the right balance. Same goes for cilantro. 

Lay plastic wrap directly on the surface of the guacamole to keep it from turning brown while you transport it. (It's messy, but it works.)

Give it a try, and let me know how it works out in the comments!

Sort:  

I LOVE making guac! My recipe is similiar to yours, except I use less garlic. I worry that too much raw garlic will overpower the dish, but maybe I will give it a shot after reading your post! 🥑

I have eaten this guac and I can assure you it is AMAZING. I get disappointed by guac at my favorite Mexican restaurants now because this stuff is so good.

Nice your in san diego too? Im in an diego! I am following u now!

Your hair makes me thibnk u might be in hillcrest or ocean beach lol im over in hillcrest missionhills area

u should come by if u wanan blaze or have a clone i can make u a clone uif u like growing! i have cactus too if uw ant somethin easy tio griow!
u should join me and @monkimo and @tytran when we do our next steemit advertising campaign like we have a steemit sign and we can go hold it at the beach take a few photos and piost to steemit make some good money promoting steemit in san diego getting nw users on board!

I don't think there's a good mexican restaurant in my country. I'm so curious about mexican cuisine yet never had a chance to taste it

Congratulations @snipe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Best guac ever!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67421.43
ETH 3217.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66