Easy Way to Jazz Up Your Scrambled Eggs

in #recipes7 years ago (edited)

I recently tried a new recipe for curried scrambled eggs with tomatoes and spinach that was simply delicious and didn't add that much to the cooking time or perp.  This recipe serves two.

Ingredients:

  • 6 pasture-raised organic eggs
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons yellow curry paste (olive oil, fresh ginger, fresh garlic, turmeric, coriander, salt)
  • 2/4 cup diced tomatoes (you can buy canned if pressed for time, just drain excess liquid off)
  • 3 ounces baby spinach

Preparation:

  1. Whisk the eggs, add salt and pepper if desired
  2. Warm 1-2 tablespoons of butter or oil (I recommend butter) 
  3. Stir in the curry paste for about a minute, just enough to get it nice and fragrant
  4. Add the tomatoes and cook just long enough that they're warm
  5. Add the spinach and let it cook just long enough to wilt a little
  6. Add the eggs and cook (about 2-3 minutes if you like a wetter scramble, closer to 5 if you prefer a drier scramble). If you've gone heavier on the butter, it may take a little longer to get it to a dry scramble.

This recipe was seriously so good, I thought about it for days afterwards. I can't believe I've been eating eggs without yellow curry my whole life. I feel betrayed by every breakfast I've ever had.

I've tried this with red curry as well, and while it's still good, it really feels like it wants some cayenne pepper or something to compliment the pepper-flavor of the red curry. (Having tried both, I still prefer the yellow though.) I haven't tried green curry yet, but that's next on the list.

Original recipe by Sun Basket.

Sort:  

Yum! I love curry and can't wait to try this. I raise quail, I bet they are so good with curry. Thank you for this post. Love new flavors.

Weirdly, up until recently, I didn't think I liked curry. After this recipe, it's all I can think of... lol

Congratulations @snipe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00