Chocolate cookies, GF, sugar free

in #recipes7 years ago

I have been completely gluten free for about 7 years and I don't use any white sugar in my house (except for feeding hummingbirds). I have worked with many different flour combinations but always enjoy the simplicity of a coconut flour recipe. Today I just had a craving for a chocolatey treat and baked up a batch of soooooo simple-to-make chocolate cookies. I added about 1/3 of a cup of walnuts as well.

CHOCOLATE COOKIES - Makes about 16 cookies.
¼ cup butter or virgin coconut oil
1/3 cup cocoa powder
In a saucepan at low heat, melt butter and stir in cocoa powder.
Remove from heat and let cool.

3 eggs
1/3 cup xylitol (or erythritol, or of course you can use sugar)
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon vanilla
In a bowl, combine eggs, sugar, salt and vanilla; stir in cocoa mixture.

¼ cup sifted coconut flour
Whisk coconut flour into batter until there are no lumps. (Add nuts at this point.)

Let batter rest for 4 to 5 minutes to allow it to thicken slightly. (This is crucial or they won't hold their shape.)

Drop batter by the spoonful on greased cookie sheet.

Bake at 175 Degree C (350F) for 14 minutes.
Chocolate cookies.jpg

I had to bake them a little longer as I didn't flatten them out at all. Next time I would. Very yummy. And good for you too!

Cheers,
Eveline

Sort:  

@redbootsdancing, yummy food. Thanks for sharing.

You're welcome. They sure hit the spot for satisfying my chocolate craving and without the sugar!
Cheers
Eveline

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60335.73
ETH 3297.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43