Sparkin Cheese n Scotch Bonnet Tarts (Super Easy!!)

in #recipes8 years ago

Look at these cute, impressive little blighters!! So easy to make but impressive enough to show off to others. A perfect thing to make for a gathering, particularly if that gathering is about teaching a lesson in chilli respect!!

You will need


Pastry
115 grams of plain flour
50 grams of cold butter
6 - 8 tablespoons of water

Filling
100 grams of cheese
1/2 a scotch bonnet pepper, nice colourful one
1/2 a small onion
1 medium egg
120ml milk
A litlle bit of smoked paprika for sprinkling
Salt and black pepper

To make

Chop the cold butter into cubes and bung it in the flour in a mixing bowl.

Now rub the butter between your fingers until the whole mix looks like breadcrumbs

Add between 6 and 8 tablespoons of cold water, 1 or 2 at a time until you have a shiny pliable dough.

Once this is done stick it in clingfilm or a sealy bag and stick it in the fridge

Stick your oven on at 180 degrees

Now finely chop the half onion and half scotch bonnet and give a fry in a pan for a couple of minutes. Then let it sit and cool slightly

Give your egg a good mix with the milk and add a pinch of salt and a grind of black pepper. At this point sometimes I add a pinch of cumin for the jazz

Add that lovely cheese and your chilli and onion mix to the egg mix

Now take your dough out of the fridge and give it a little knead before rolling out on a lightly floured surface to about as thin as a 10 pence piece hmm, that's about 3 millimetres!

Use either an upturned mug or a very small bowl to cut circles out of the dough

Press these circles into a muffin tin, don't worry if the sides crinkle, it adds to their character!

Add the filling to each one, fill to about two thirds as it will rise a little. When all filled sprinkle a little smoked paprika on the tops

Wallop these bad but cute boys in the oven for 12 to 15 minutes!! Then take them out and let them cool a little before removing.

Now present them to your fellow pie munchers

Enjoy!!!!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this. We have quite a bit of cheese tart craze in Singapore recently. They are not cheap $2.40 each.

See?


Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/lifestyle/food/next-big-thing-cheese-tarts

Cor I could make a buck or two!! That is expensive!!! Those look spectacularly cheesy!!

I've not tried it myself because I felt it's expensive. I rather have an egg tart that goes for less than 2 bucks.

I completely agree!

You're welcome.

I've got to get making some of these some day.

Awesome tutorial! I loooooove cheese - life would never be the same without it. Haha

Hehe, cheese is good!!! Cheers!

Cheers, bud!

Wow, we have a problem here... this is what you call 1 is too many and 8 is not enough! Many I could eat so many of these right now!! Beautiful, amazing as always! STEEM ON!

I have to admit they were gone as soon as they were cooked the tasty little blighters!!

Those are too cute to eat.. well I'm sure the smell of them would over ride that cuteness fast. Whenever I see Scotch Bonnet mentioned in a title, I instantly know it's going to be a Boom post and food tease! Works better than clickbait. :)

I know, scotch bonnet is like a trigger word for me too!! Cheers!! :0)

And now I'm hungry...

I was but now sated!!! Lol

Mmmmmm! Yummy! I will definately make some these! Its almost like little quiches ! Thanks for shareing! ♨😉♨

It's funny you say that cos my other half is always saying they are like quiches!!

They were very very tasty and photogenic too!!

Oh yum, these look far too fabulous to be good for the old waistline. It's a good job I don't believe in dieting.

Me neither, I tend to think that I am too old and too happy for that shit!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60024.78
ETH 2351.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47