Slow Bullet Beef

in #recipes7 years ago

20170414_193605.jpg

Beef Shin! What are we going to do with that? Why not slow cook it with cumin, soy, garlic, onion and most importantly 8 fat jalapeños for a fresh grassy heat. This cut has a real dark depth of flavour when cooked till it melts apart. Drool-tastic!

It's as easy as anything and dashed tasty. Let's get cooking!

You will need

20170414_142916.jpg
Half a kilo of beef shin
4 cloves of garlic
8 big fat green jalapeños
1 medium onion
1 heaped teaspoon of cumin
2 tbsps of soy sauce
2 big tbsps of tomato paste
½ a pint of hot water

An iron crock pot for cooking it in.

And whatever you like to accompany it. Salad, rice or pasta. The world will dance merrily with your Slow Bullet Beef!

To make

First off, get your oven on at 120 degrees.

Put your crock pot on a medium high heat. After it is fair old hot, season your beef shin, chuck it in and brown on all sides.
pixlr_20170414190102878.jpg

Once browned remove from the pot
20170414_143821.jpg

Finely chop your onion, garlic and jalapeños
20170414_143614.jpg

Add some oil to the pot and add them in, reduce the heat to medium and fry for a few minutes
20170414_143712.jpg

Add your tomato paste, cumin, soy sauce and hot water with a pinch of salt and some black pepper. Then plop your browned beef in
20170414_144117.jpg

Pop it in the oven and now you are free to crack open a beer and settle down for three or four hours whilst it cooks.
20170414_191240.jpg

After three or four hours, take the old girl out of the oven and open her up. Your beef should be all fall'y apart'y. Get two forks and in best shredding style give them a hard fork. Gettit!! ;0)
20170414_191103.jpg

Turn the oven up to 160 and put the old girl back in the oven with the lid off for half an hour to forty five minutes. Checking that the sauce reduces to a nice thick consistency.

Once it's nice and thick you are ready!! Get it out and scoff it!!! Sometimes a nice squirt of lime at the end is really nice but it's up to you.
20170414_193605.jpg

Enjoy!
20170414_193539.jpg

20170414_193553.jpg

Sort:  

NOMS! I could definitely eat that but the jalapenos might kill my husband.
Still, I'm saving the recipe for when my boys come to visit! :)

Yeah the jalapenos definitely add a little pizazz!!! :O)

I'll pass just because I don't take beef but I must it still looks juicily good.

Thank you! It is indeed juicily good!

You are welcome

Hehe, cheers. I must have missed the announcement for that one! Dash it all! I will have to keep a better eye on @woman-onthe-wing!

Wow!!! That looks fantastic!! (I have to admit, I got a little caught up in the "giving the old girl a hard forking with 2 forks for good measure." Or, something along those lines.)

Bahahhaha!! I was getting carried away myself at that bit. Had to drag myself back to reality lolz!!

This looks so good. Add some rice mmmm. Thanks for sharing!

Hehe, I had it with rice! I didn't put it on the plate for the photos because I love rice and if you ever look at any of my spicy meat dishes they are always sat on or next to a big mound of it. This time I thought I would pretend I am not just a rice daftie! :O)

I love rice too! I could eat rice every day! Even regular white rice with beans. Mmm. Im getting hungry! :)

I had lots tonight!

Looks really delicious. And with a good beer to slow the wait time. Doesn't get much better than that. Except I've learned a new phrase today from across yon sea. "Stonking Tasty". New goal...use that in a sentence at least once this week. Thanks for the great post, and the hardfork joke was quite nifty as well.

Hehe, I think I am glad you liked the phrase stonking tasty more than I am glad you liked the dish!

A good beer seems to fit in perfectly when waiting. I think I might have overdid it last night though as I feel a tad delicate today!

I bet this would go perfectly fine with some fried potatoes!!

You know it would. I still have plenty left over for today and might just do that!!

I appreciate that combination a lot, some beef cooked in tomato sauce accompanied​ by fried chips. I'm drooling already! Good appetite :)

Thank you! Yes it makes for a lovely saucy, beefy dish!! :0)

Good recipe, great hard-fork joke. Cheers!

Boof, first to get the hardfork joke!!! Cheers! 5 steem winging its way to your wallet for catching that :0)

Too kind @meesterboom - Means a lot to a minnow like me... powering it up now!

Fantastic to hear. I shall follow you too. A belated welcome to steemit!! :0)

Thank you and have followed you too!

My type of food! Looks great man!

Cheers dude, it's smashing. I could eat it day in day out!

that looks delicious, its making my mouth water lol.
I shall try it sometime, altho ill be using less chili's :-)

Hehe, aw! You gotta use lots so it can live up to the name!! ;0)

But, It's rather good even with less chilli's!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97