Howlin Dawg's Easy Dough Kneading

in #recipes8 years ago


Take your bread to the next level!

Today I am making some sourdough bread and it involves a little kneading of the dough. I am going to put a 'how to recipe' up for the sourdough later but didn't want to just say in it "knead the dough" after all someone reading might have no idea!

So here we have my simple kneading techniques to make your dough and resulting bread that little bit more awesome.

The non stick secret!
I put some oil, rapeseed or olive into a bowl, like so.

Then I smear some on the worktop and some on my hands as I knead. This does two things, it prevents the dough from sticking to your worktop and most importantly your hands. Also by not using flour you are keeping your dough nice and wet, making it rise better later.

The simplest knead


At first I was going to do it in pictures but realised that a video is so much better. The first technique is easy. Wallop your dough on your oiled surface, grab an end and stretch it away from you then pull it back till it folds over. Then give your dough a quarter turn and repeat. Do this for five to ten minutes till your dough is shiny and not as sticky.

The slap and fold


This one is my favourite. It's dashed easy too. It's the same as above but with an added lifting of the dough and slapping it down, check it out. This gives the dough a good work out and makes great bread later. Same as above, do for five or ten minutes.

Bang, that's it. You are an expert kneader. Now your bread will be lighter, holier and just generally more amazing!!

Remember and look out for my sourdough bread how to, coming soon!!

Sort:  

I hope it tastes good man! Now I want one too.

Cheers dude, it's about to go in the oven. Yum!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44