You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What to Eat When You Can't Eat Anything (Garlic, Citrus, Sugar, Dairy and Gluten-FREE)

in #recipes7 years ago

Hi @thatgrlbeth and thank you for this thoughtful post. I have suffered from IBS for the last ten years or so and took a similar path to yourself by using an elimination diet. I eventually worked out that my problems were caused by eating too much fruit. We are told in the UK to eat at least five fruit and five veg every day to maintain optimal health. As I love fruit I had no problem with that and used to eat a lot of my fruit (apples, oranges, banana, kiwi etc) at work. Sometimes, by the end of the day, I would have the beginnings of a severe stomach cramp that would increase throughout the evening and into the night. It would become so painful that I was totally incapacitated. Anyway, to cut a long story short, I found by not eating the fruit I didn't suffer the symptoms. I have also found that if I blitz the fruit to make a smoothy I can still enjoy my fruit without incurring IBS.

I firmly believe our diets are extremely important for our well-being and although making a lifestyle change can be difficult it is well worth it in the end.

I would welcome more posts on this subject as it is useful to see how others have coped. Thanks for the recipe by the way. Simple but delicious. :-)

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! I'm glad you finally figured out what was bothering you, a decade is a long time! Perfect example about how diets and even "healthy foods" can upset your body and lead to sickness. Thanks for the comment : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65