Vegan eggs, sunny side up? Yes please!

in #recipes6 years ago

When I became vegan I had to allow myself to accept the fact that there were certain foods I was going to have to give up forever. I allowed my heart to break for a moment, and then I told myself that my taste buds, and sentimentality did not supersede the well being and/or life of another living soul. Giving up certain foods meant giving up 3 of my favorite everyday foods; cottage cheese, eggs, and tuna. To this day, I have yet to find anything that comes close to a vegan cottage cheese (if anyone reading this knows of something similar in flavor and texture, please, please, please give me the recipe or where to buy said item). As for tuna, I found a delightful chickpea recipe that is both similar in flavor and texture, without the fishy after taste, which I found to be a bonus! I will write a blog with that recipe at a later date, when I have a hankering for a tuna salad sandwich. Finally, eggs. I had given up eggs and had almost given up on the idea of finding something that replicated the flavor. I'm not talking about scrambled eggs, egg replacements are very similar, I am talking about over easy eggs. When I used to eat eggs, I wanted them to barely be cooked. I wanted mostly egg yolk running all over my plate so I could use whatever bun or toast I had to sop it up. I didn't think I would ever find that flavor again, until now. This recipe is so good, it's stupid. I mean, with this twin of the incredible edible egg, no chickens should ever have to suffer again.... just saying.....

20180805_111454.jpg

Egg yolk ingredients:
-1 cup water
-1 TBSP 1 TSP cornstarch
-2 TBSP Canola oil
-2 TSP nutritional yeast
-3/4 tsp black salt
-1/4 tsp turmeric

Directions: In a small pot whisk together water and cornstarch. Stir in remaining ingredients. Put on medium high heat, whisk entire time yolk is cooking. Cook 3-5 minutes until the mixture thickens to similar texture as egg yolk.

Egg white:
Thinly slice silken tofu (pictured below). In a shalow pan, melt vegan butter and place tofu in butter. Cook on low until tofu is browned on both side.

IMG_3185.jpg

Spoon egg yolk mixture on top of tofu, salt and pepper to taste, and serve with your favorite breakfast sides.

20180805_112716.jpg

I promise this is the closest you will get to the flavor and texture of an egg, without actually eating an egg! Enjoy..

(Images taken by me)

Sort:  

Congratulations @jenniferferris! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jenniferferris! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31