Recipe for Authentic Greek Style Potatoes

in #recipes8 years ago

Authentic Greek Style Potatoes

potatoes
If you're like me and you're a huge fan of potatoes, then you'll love this one. Browned potatoes with a hint of lemon and bit of herbs is everything that my tastebuds love. Try this one out and let me know what you think!

Ingredients:

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
2 Large Yellow Potatoes
Juice of 1/2 Lemon *remove seeds
1 Teaspoon Dried Rosemary
2 Teaspoons Salt
1 Teaspoon Pepper

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Cube the potatoes
  2. Heat oil in large pan over medium heat.
  3. Add potatoes and move them around the pan for even coating of oil.
  4. After 5 minutes, pour the juice of 1/2 lemon over potatoes, add rosemary, salt, pepper and stir thoroughly.
  5. Continue cooking for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  6. Potatoes are finished cooking when they are browned and you can easily pierce them with a fork.
Sort:  

I'm REALLY into potatoes right now :) Just had gold butter potato homefries with sweet red onions and organic eggs for breakfast a little while ago. I'm going to pick up some rosemary while I'm out and make this for dinner.

That sounds divine. You can always add a dash or two of oregano too, but rosemary is what gives it a special taste

I forgot I'm growing rosemary on my windowsill!

I responded to your question about Blocktrades...

This looks like a great, simple and delicious recipe. Thanks for sharing this. Can't wait to try it out!

Let me know what you think!

Cheap and cheerful meal, thanks for sharing this recipe.

Thanks for this but I was trying to cut the carbs lol. Will have to try it now though! Might try substituting with sweet potatoes though for a more low GI/paleo friendly recipe. I have to be careful as I'm a type 1 diabetic (insulin dependent). Have you ever tried it with sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes?

Sweet potatoes are so amazing! I definitely eat them more than regular potatoes. Here's my recipe for baked sweet potato fries that are really good.
This is my own website, I don't want to shamelessly promote it on here but I just want to get back to writing my new blog post for tomorrow so I'll refer you to the recipe this way ;)
http://www.fountainofbeauty.org/recipe-of-the-week-4

Hello Heidi , Greek Style potatoes please add a pinch of oregano. It's essential on this recipe , especially in the islands:) Also half a cup of water while in the oven. Great content here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66739.21
ETH 2594.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70