You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ancient Orange Mead Recipe

in #recipes7 years ago

Huh! Suddenly I have a plan of what to do with honey from the bees I want to get in spring! Awesome!

What does the mead taste like? Sort of like a beery wine?

Sort:  

Hmm, it is hard to describe. It tastes nothing like hard liquor but has a bite to it to let you know it has alcohol in it. I can barely taste the spices, and it is mostly honey with the citrus twist.

Most Whole Foods and beer stores will sell Dansk store brand mead. My favorite is their "Viking Blod" recipe. I'm brewing my attempt at duplicating that favor now. If it works out, I'll share the recipe.

The store bought namebrand stuff is $30 a bottle though for 750mL. Try that to have an idea of the flavor. Just don't blame me when you love it and spend lots of money at first until you brew your own. haha ;-)

Will do, thanks!

That bite is likely fusels which will age out.

I don't mind the bite at all. It's still delicious! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34