How to make delicious pesto of nettles!

in #recipes8 years ago

This is my first post on Steemit! I´m a foodie so I thought I would share one of my favourite recipes :)


I have started to do homemade pesto, it is so tasty and quick to make. Here´s a recipe of pesto made of nettles (you can also replace the nettles with basil or rocket salad). The finished pesto may be stored in a jar in the fridge (but there is a risk you eat it all at once ;)


Picking nettles in my garden in Sweden.

Ingredients:

5 dl nettle
0.5 dl of sunflower seeds
1 clove garlic
1 dl oil (such as olive oil or canola oil)
Some pieces of parmesan cheese, about 75 grams
A little bit of salt

How to make the pesto:

Put on gloves and pick nettles, the smaller leaves are the best. Rinse the nettles. Put all ingridients in a mixer and mix until it´s an even consistency. The pesto is done (and won´t sting, I promise)! It´s delicious with pasta and some parmesan cheese on the top!

Sort:  

Nice! Welcome to Steemit! My wife @corinnestokes also makes a really great pesto. You'll probably like her posts (though she's pretty new here also).

Thanks! I will check her out! :)

I actually just made pesto yesterday :) I make a big batch and freeze it in ice cube trays, then transfer the frozen cubes to a plastic storage bag in the freezer to defrost as needed. By the way, I saw that you also posted in photography, so that means we have at least two things in common :) I posted a few things in real-food (water kefir and eating clean without breaking the bank) and a few in photography as well (Fourth of July, Everglades tour, my daughter losing her first tooth and a portrait of my 2-year-old). Welcome to Steemit!

That´s a great tip, defenitly going to try that! Smart way to make perfect portions..

This is great @givemeyoursteem
I remember my grandma making nettle soup when I was a kid. Never thought about making a pesto from it though. Interesting :)

Nice, i'm gonna make pesto tonight with a little extra parmesan.
Love your post.

Nice, thanks for your comment! Here is how it turned out for me last time:
Love parmesan! Good luck with the pesto!

Aw I love this recipe.. who would have thought stingy nettles could be good for anything..
It looks so good! Will definitely try that sometime.

Thank you!! Good luck with the pesto! :)

Good to see you were pretty successful with your first post and great looking recipe!

OMG, that looks delicious.. Thanks for the recipe!

Looks great and I bet that taste too. Thank you for this recipe. I have to try this! :)

Nice presentation. I am into wild foods myself. have a couple of posts @andre-ager

I have some nettle growing nearby my house

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53