Start Your Day Off Right With These Delicious Pancakes!

in #recipes6 years ago

There is nothing that makes me happier than looking at a beautiful stack of fluffy pancakes.

pancakebacon.JPG

Unfortunately, all too often do I see pancakes that are flat, or too big and dry, or still raw in the middle. This makes me very sad. So I would like to share with you today a simple recipe for pancakes, with some pictures so you too can enjoy these delicious pancakes.

Here is what you will need for this recipe;

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbsp melted butter
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  1. Preheat your griddle over medium high heat
  2. Sift all your dry ingredients together
  3. Add the rest of your ingredients and whisk just until combined, you do not want to over-mix the batter, this will make your pancakes flat and tough

You should let the batter rest for a little bit. I usually let it sit for a few minutes, and then we are ready. To get a nice size pancake, I use a 1/3 measuring cup.

pancakemix.JPG

Your batter should look like this, if it is too runny add a little bit more flour. If it is too thick, add a little more milk. You want the batter to be thick like a gravy. If the batter is too thick the pancakes will be very thick, a runny batter will give you flat pancakes.

pourpancake.JPG

I use a well seasoned cast iron skillet, just pour the batter in the middle slowly, it will form a nice circle on its own.

pancakeflip.JPG

When you see these little bubbles on the edge of the pancakes drying out, you are ready to flip. You do not need to wait until the whole top is dry.

pancakestack.JPG

Now you have a delicious stack of soft, fluffy pancakes. Yummy! I hope you and your family enjoy these as much as mine!

Tips and Reminders

  • Lemon juice? Yes, the lemon juice works nicely in this recipe. In fact, if you have a packaged pancake mix, follow the directions on your package, and add the 1 tsp baking soda, 1 Tbsp sugar, and 1 tsp of lemon juice. I have tried this with many different brands and it always works. Your pancakes will turn out lighter and tastier!
  • I love my cast iron griddle, if you use one, just be mindful of the heat. I find that I have to turn my griddle to low because it retains the heat so well.
  • You can add any fruit to this recipe, my favorite is blueberries.
  • Pancakes are best eaten right away, but if you have leftovers, you can put them in the refrigerator and reheat them. They wont be as fluffy, but my kids haven't complained yet.
Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-17T03:46:03
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 26.00/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love pancakes for a quick easy comfort food fix! Strawberry jam is my favourite thing to go woth them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75