The Best Way To Cook A Whole Chicken: The Delicious And Frugal Way

in #recipes7 years ago

One way we save money is by buying meat in bulk or buying whole chicken and cutting it up before freezing it. A couple times a month I like to roast a whole chicken because the flavor is amazing and it's a simple meal my entire family loves!

This is not a healthy meal if that's what you're looking for but with some simple ingredient swaps, you could make it healthy-ish;)

Ingredients

5-6 Lb. Whole Chicken

1 lb. Butter

2 T. Dale's Sauce

2 T. Canola Oil

1 t. Rosemary, Crushed

2 t. Seasoning Salt

2 t. Garlic Salt

1 t. Pepper

This recipe is a super simple one so don't be surprised at the short list of directions!

First, turn your oven to 375°F and spray your pan with non-stick spray.

Next, pour the Dale's Sauce and Canola oil on the chicken.

Add all the seasonings and spread them evenly on the chicken. Put one stick of butter inside the chicken and cut up the other and put it in the pan.

It takes roughly 20 minutes per pound for a whole chicken to cook thoroughly.

I cooked mine a little too long today but it just made the skin a little crispier so I don't think anybody had a problem with that:)


That's all it takes to make this delicious chicken and there are so many things to do with the leftover chicken! I will have to do a post on that another day because this chicken has already disappeared;)

Thank you for reading my post and I hope you enjoy it!
Please like and follow my page for more recipes.

All photos by @curly-q

Sort:  

This looks like it yielded some delicious results, that crisp looks perfect to me!

It never disappoints! I agree the skin was perfectly crisp and yummy:)

Yum! Simple, easy, and delicious! I don't doubt this disappeared in short order!

Yes it disappeared quick lol we usually have enough leftovers to make something the next night but it was picked clean this time:)

Picked clean. Yup, my hubby is especially good at that part. Only way to have leftovers is to roast two. ;~P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60845.74
ETH 2912.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67