Recipe: Cauliflower Fried Rice - Gets Dinner on the Table in 10 Minutes

in #recipes8 years ago (edited)

My husband is away for the evening so I was left to determine dinner for myself. Read: I have absolutely zero interest in cooking anything that requires much more effort than opening a bag or box. And forget dishes. But, a dinner without him around does bring me the much coveted freedom to eat any vegetable I want (he's, uh, picky).

finalproduct

Enter: cauliflower fried rice. I keep some "riced" cauliflower in my freezer for nights like these (you can also buy it pre-riced, found in the fridge or freezer section of some grocery stores). If you haven't done it yourself before, it's very easy: wash & dry a cauliflower head. Cut into florets. Add to food processor and mince/pulse until it resembles a rice-like size.

Having it pre-riced, whether it's DIY or purchased that way, is a time saver, as are my trusty Dorot's frozen minced garlic cloves & minced chili peppers, both used tonight. Add some extra veggies on hand, sesame oil, soy sauce, and in my case a scrambled egg + egg white for protein, and you have yourself a dinner.

I really took the lazy man's route tonight and didn't even use a cutting board to dice my bell pepper and red onion. I just held the veggie over my bowl (used to hold pre-cut veggies, later my cooked egg, and finally the finished product) and cut away at it. Probably not my safest kitchen technique.

lazycutting

This is truly a fast #dinner. It only took 10 minutes from start to finish with just 1 pan, 1 whisk, and 1 wooden spoon to clean up (in addition to my bowl and fork). Plus it was delicious and healthy, to boot.

Ingredients

  • "Riced" cauliflower, 1-1.5 C per person
  • Vegetables, you choose which ones and which amounts; I used 1 small yellow bell pepper, 1/8 red onion, and ~2C baby spinach
  • Garlic, minced 1 clove
  • Other spices to your liking; I used 1 tsp frozen minced chili (Dorot's)
  • Sesame oil, 2-3 tsp
  • Low-sodium soy sauce, ~1-2 Tbsp
  • Eggs, I used 1 whole and 1 egg white; could use chicken, shrimp, beef, any protein of your choosing

Directions

1- Add the oil to a hot pan and scramble the eggs (see how I took the lazy man's route again and "scrambled" them in the pan vs whisking in separate bowl with milk prior to pan).
lazyeggs
2- Add the harder veggies and a dash more oil if needed (harder veggies in this case was my bell pepper & onion; I held the baby spinach for now). Then carefully remove eggs to the now empty bowl (or don't be so lazy and dirty a second dish by first removing the eggs to said second dish, and then adding the veggies which were held in the first dish). Cook for 3-5 minutes.
eggremove
3- Add the garlic, other spices (here, chili), and cauliflower rice - break up as needed if it came frozen. Add the soy sauce. Cover and cook 3-4 minutes.
breakup
4- Add back the cooked egg. Add the "softer" vegetables, if using; here baby spinach. Cover and cook 1-2 more minutes until wilted.
spinach
5- Eat (and pair with an adult beverage of your choosing...because as they say, it's not drinking alone if your dog is home...)
withwine

dog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70