Healthy | Celebrating the Strawberry Day 3 | A Mothers Love

in #recipes6 years ago (edited)

Day 3 Celebrating the Strawberry, a mother’s love

bread.jpg

When my daughters were school-aged I used to make breakfast and take it up to them each morning.

I would rise early, go for my morning run and then make breakfast for them. I know, I spoiled them, but gee you only get one shot at it! And to see their faces as they happily welcomed their morning fare was well worth it for me. When they left for college I would send those "care packages" with baked bread, cookies, apple chips, fresh raisins and other favorites.

They’re both grown and married now and I don’t get that opportunity often, but the memories still bring warmth and a smile in my heart.

A standard morning offering would often include breakfast breads! On the weekends I would make 6-12 mini-loaves at a time, varying the ingredients. Needless to say they loved it! If not for breakfast I would pop them in their lunches, or they would love them as an after school snack. Each mini-loaf served as an individual treat.

So today Steemians, as we embark on day 3 to celebrate the Strawberry I will share one of my favorite recipes with you.

But first, I would be remiss by not sharing a few additional facts about the strawberry.

IMG_2901.JPG

Did you know Strawberries are native to North America? Native Americans used strawberries in their dishes frequently. The first colonists actually shipped Strawberry plants back to Europe as early as the 1600’s. They weren’t really cultivated because they were known to grow in the wild.

The word strawberry is derived from the word Streawberige, as the plant grows it sends out runners which resemble straw. A possible basis for the name Strawberry! Good to know!
source

IMG_2903.JPG

I chose this recipe because it is quick and easy to make. You can substitute with any favorite fruit. I have made this recipe with blueberries, apples, bananas….whatever you wish! I use gluten free flour however you may use regular flour if you wish. Adding yogurt to this recipe not only adds protein to your bread, but I find keeps it light! You may use plain Greek yogurt or if you wish add your favorite flavor!

Come along with me lets bake bread together!

Gluten Free Strawberry Bread

You will need:

  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • ¾ cup honey or agave
  • 2 eggs
  • Juice from one lemon
  • Zest from one lemon
  • 1 ½ cups gluten free flour (or if you wish, regular flour)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ cup Greek yogurt (I love Siggi’s. It contains 14 grams protein in each serving)
  • 1 cup sliced strawberries

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Oil mini loaf pans, or if you prefer 1 large loaf pan
  3. Wisk together coconut oil, honey, eggs and lemon juice
  4. Combine flour, baking soda and salt
  5. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients
  6. Stir in yogurt
  7. Add in Strawberries and lemon zest
  8. Pour into baking pan(s)
  9. Bake for 28-30 minutes for mini loaf pans. Bake 45-50 minutes for large loaf pan. I always Insert knife to check for doneness, should come out clean.

IMG_2910.JPG

Voila!

IMG_2917.JPG

I store these little goodies in an airtight container. (Although they never last long) If you wish you may freeze them for a rainy day!

I hope you will find these light, tasty and as my husband said “pleasing in the mouth” mini-loaves.

IMG_2914.JPG

Do you have a favorite bread recipe? I would love to hear about it!

Thanks for stopping by! Watch for my next installment of CELEBRATING THE STRAWBERRY!

steemitlogo.png

Sort:  

Love your strawberry series. Miss them so much here in the tropics. Will eat a lot of them in May when we travel to Europe to meet up with Family and friends.

Thank you so much. I am having fun with it! Where do you live in the tropics? Just having moved to Florida last May there are so many fresh fruits to eat year round its really fun to experiment in recipes.

Cambodia, SE-Asia. Love it here.

some of us are lucky enough to get moms like you.

resteemed!

Oh what kind words. I love my daughters! I'm sure their wonderful partners are making wonderful breakfasts for them! Really a blessing...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54