Tasty Tofu PocketssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #recipe7 years ago

Tasty Tofu Pockets

I know, I know, tofu AGAIN?? I swear I don't even eat that much of the stuff, however, most of my favourites do involve tofu, but not just any tofu Soyganic smoked black pepper and garlic tofu! If you haven't tried it, get on it, it's the best! I didn't care for tofu much before, but since I tried this kind, I'm hooked. Totally hooked.

This recipe is amazing! I had originally seen these on ChowVegan, I used their recipe as a bit of a guideline and changed it almost entirely. You could fill these with whatever you like, lentil sloppy joe mix, curries, salsa, black beans and vegan cheese, anything you like! I experimented and did one batch with green peas, ground tofu (duh. :p) broccoli and a cashew cream sauce, they were so yummy! If you check out the pic you'll see how I totally left the broil on and burned the topping at the end hahaha. Somehow I was the only one who really loved them, the rest of these hooligans of mine were just cuckoo over the tomato sauce version that this post is all about.

The sauce is actually just my spaghetti sauce recipe, which is what I would suggest adding any leftover sauce to! Its a very fast sauce and super yummy. It takes an hour or more to complete this recipe however, so I double it, making two batches and freezing half. Also, I did try spelt flour once, did it half and half with all purpose as I was running low, it wasn't pretty. The spelt lacked the elasticity all purpose has and there were rips and tears in them, they spilled their guts all over my baking sheet.

If you don't have a food processor, I'd suggest getting one- I mean, you can chop and mince it all by hand, but personally I can't be bothered with that kind of nonsense these days, who does? This unrealistic view of the supermom from the 50's who takes care of the kids, stays fit, keeps the house spotless, has supper on the table by 5pm and still has time for that man of hers, Every. Single. Day- it's a crock of shit. Don't ever think it's not enough, that you're not enough, or not doing enough, just do what you can, enjoy your life and fudge the rest!
Ha! Kind of went into a bit of a feminist rant there! BURN ALL THE BRAS MUAHAHAHA!

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • Crust (Makes 8)

~4 Cups of All Purpose Flour
~4 Tablespoons of Cornmeal
~1/4 Cup Olive Oil
~2 Teaspoons of Sugar
~3 Teaspoons Onion Powder
~3 Teaspoons Garlic Powder
~3 Teaspoons of Italian Seasoning OR- 1 Teaspoon of Parsley, 1 Teaspoon of Oregano and 1 Teaspoon of Basil
~1 Teaspoon of Salt
~1 and a Half Cups of Water

Optional Topping - Melted vegan butter or olive oil mixed with any combo of the above spices

Filling

~1/2 Pack Soyganic Smoked Black Pepper and Garlic Tofu
~1 Bell Pepper, (Green or Red, or Half a Green and Half a Red, or an Orange, or a Yellow, or Half- You get the idea.)
~1 Medium Onion
~3 Cloves of Garlic
~2-3 Cups of Tomato Sauce
~1 Teaspoon of Braggs (Or just salt, or neither, your choice)
~1 Teaspoon Onion Powder
~1 Teaspoon of Garlic Powder

*I usually use the whole pack of tofu, add another pepper, another onion and use the whole jar of sauce then either put the leftover sauce on pasta or freeze it for another time.

Instructions:

  1. Chop tofu in big chunks and throw into the food processor, then pulse, (or mince with a knife) until it resembles cooked ground beef. Then add to a nonstick pan with a little oil, I use avocado for high heat, and the onion and garlic powders. Mix it around every few minutes and when it's brown and crispy, add braggs, stir well, then turn off the burner.

  2. Next get your veg in the processor and mince it up, add it to a pot or large saucepan and add tomato sauce. Let it simmer.

  3. While the veggies and tofu are cooking, gather all your ingredients for the crust, adding all the dry stuff and mixing well. Next add the olive oil, mix, then the water a little at a time. I found I needed the whole cup and a half but you may not, just add and mix around until it forms a ball.

  4. Add tofu to veg mixture and still well, remove from heat.

  5. Sprinkle flour on a smooth surface and dump out ball of dough. Divide into 8 even pieces, using one at a time, roll out to a rectangle-ish shape thats about 12x6 inches. Use a tablespoon to get a heaping dollop of sauce and plop it on the rectangle-ish dough, off to one side, at least an inch or two from the edges. Fold over the long side and press along the edges to seal, then flip over and keep wrapping. Seal any remaining edges and tuck the ends under the bottom.

  6. Place the Tasty Pockets on a baking sheet, I used parchment paper (Mostly because my baking sheets are old as shit) and pop in the oven at 375°F for 20 minutes. You can alsoCook them part way and pop them into the freezer, then into a ziplock once frozen to bake up another day!

And there you have it, delicious, nutritious, vegan, mine were all organic, and a bit of a pain in the ass to make, but totally worth it!! I hope you give them a try and let me know how it goes!!

Happy Tofu-ing!

                        Credit link

TheNeoHippy

Sort:  

Helow, your posts are always great. i always learn a lot from you. Thanks @venomnymous

Thanks for the support.

Never been a tofu fan but those look delicious

They are delicious!

Wow, this is a very good meal, making me starve when I see it, if I'm there, I'll ask for it. This food is very delicious if we enjoy it with friends and family.

They are pretty filling. And you could totally sneak healthy stuff for the kids.

Looks delicious. Will definitely have to try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60833.36
ETH 3370.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49