Raw Protein Balls (Vegan Friendly) To Fill You Up Between Meals or After Workouts! :)

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)

Protein balls are a quick, convenient way to combine whatever nutrition you want into a small space that you can snack on whenever you like. Think of them as solid smoothies! These ones combine protein powder with sweetness to bring a half decent balance that will keep you going throughout the day...

These contain nuts to provide some of the micro nutrients that are hard to come by, along with chia seeds and cacao powder for magnesium and other goodness.

Note: While these protein balls are vegan friendly, they do contain a fair amount of dates and coconut oil, so if you are looking for a lower carb option and lower fat option to aid in weight management, you might want to tweak this recipe for your own needs. I will be putting together exactly that kind of recipe in the near future here.

Total work time for this recipe is under 10 minutes.

protein ball bowl closeup

Ingredients


  1. 1 tablespoon of Vanilla & Chocolate Protein Powder (or whichever protein powder you prefer).
  2. 1 tablespoon of cacao powder.
  3. 116g of Pitted Dates.
  4. 2 tablespoons of chia seeds.
  5. 2 tablespoons of ground flax seeds.
  6. Three quarters of a cup of almonds (Don't forget to soak them overnight in water for best results).
  7. Three quarters of a cup of walnuts.
  8. 2 tablespoons of ground cinnamon.
  9. 1 tablespoon of water.
  10. 1 tablespoon of coconut oil.
  11. Desiccated coconut.

Method


Combine everything except the dates, coconut oil, desiccated coconut and water into a high powered blender. Blend until the mix is evenly powdery.

Add the dates, oil and water into the blender and mix up again until the result is a gooey brown, solid-ish lump. You may need to use a pusher tool to push down the mix into the blender's blades.

protein ball mix

Place the mixture onto a tray, lined with baking parchment.

protein ball tray

Form the mix into balls of whatever size you prefer and then chill them all in the fridge for a few hours.

protein ball bowl

Finally, roll them around in some desiccated coconut flakes, squeeze the flakes into the balls by hand and you are done!

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul


Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


tribesteemup-orange-banner.png


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

Absolutely great! They really look so very yummy. I would also like to add cardamom powder and a pinch of smashed cloves for that wonderful aromatic kick for the senses to enjoy and relish, in the most delightful manner.

Oh, thanks. I am not usually a fan of cloves - but I'll bare that in mind.

They look great. You're still a fan of coconut oil even though its said to be full of saturated fats?
Hope life is treating you kindly young man.

I think it is high in saturated fat, yes - though it seems different people have totally different thoughts on the risks of that. In general I avoid all oils but sometimes I will use some when I am starting out with a new recipe that calls for it and then I will find ways to reduce it or eliminate it. The next time I make this recipe I will probably cut the oil by half and then experiment with the outcome. I will probably also half the amount of dates too as they are the highest natural food on the glycaemic index, lots of sugar!

Life is going fine there, thanks - and you?

I'm good thank you :-)
I mentioned the coconut oil as I read an article someone shared on dlike the other week vilifying cocnut oil and coconuts in general. Coconuts are one thing that I am never short of and use all the time when I cook here.
Food is such a challenge!

I have seen people be highly for and against coconut oil, but not so much coconuts. I don't really have a problem with them - I just avoid the oil as much as possible. I am gradually looking in to the studies on specific vegan friendly foods like coconut and soy beans - it seems almost everyone has an angle!

They look delicious, thanks for the recipe and the clear step by step instructions :)

You are welcome!

Looks so great.....I think this can help me to meet my protein requirement to a certain extent..Thanx for that....loved it....worth a try.

Yummy 😍😋😋

These look so delicious. I always look for all kinds of recipes for protein balls, since I absolutely love them, so thank you for sharing with us your recipe.

Unfortunately we do not have the ingredients for these over here in Nigeria @ura-soul.

We do have our own equivalent though, called Akara balls. They are made primarily from beans and a4e quite nice

Beautiful and simple, love it! I will definitely used these as healthy snacks between my meals and workouts. Thank you!

Hello foodie steemian!

You get an homemade upvote from SteemKitchen! 👍

This was given by hand and not by a bot.
You have received this as motivation from us, so you can keep going on with your great dishes.

---This gives Power :-) ! ---

We are looking forward to see you soon on our discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk , so we can exchange fresh new recipes and delicious meals with each other 🌮🍔🍩.

With friendly regards, your curator of today @avizor ;-)


W3Schools

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96