Green Döner: Revolutionizing them leftovers.

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

Well Hello my babies (You would understand the my babies reference if you had seen FRIENDS).

Let me ask you a very important question. What do you do with leftovers? Being an Indian, I was taught from a very young age that throwing away food is a very bad thing as there are millions of people in this world who die of starvation. Hence we come up with recipes on a daily basis to use our leftovers but in a delicious manner.


Source

So day before yesterday I had ordered a spinach-paneer curry. Paneer is type of an india tofu thing which is tasty as hell. So, I had some of it left the other day and I thought of an exciting green makeover for it. So I came up with this GREEN DÖNER. All the major ingredients of this recipe are green vegetables and their mixture turned out to be so delicious.

INGREDIENTS:

  1. Spinach ( any kind you can get, I had leftover cooked ones so I took that)
  2. Zucchini (Keep the amount according to however much you want to make, I took half a zucchini)
  3. String beans (Take however much you like, I took one handful, I have tiny hands :-))
  4. Onion (One)
  5. Tomato (One)
  6. Salt
  7. Black pepper
  8. Garlic powder or normal garlic
  9. Some cooking cream
  10. Ketjap( It is a peanut infused soy sauce thing that Dutch people tend to use, this one is very optional though)
  11. Turkish bread(or any other kind of bread which you can stuff)
  12. Black cumin (famously called kalonji in Hindi, also optional but adding ths gives a very nice flavor)
  13. Cucumber
  14. Curry Powder.

PROCEDURE

First of all heat up some oil in a pan. When it heats up a bit, add the black cumin to it followed by the onions. Once the onions turn golden the add the zucchini .

When they are almost cooked add the tomato and to this add a little bit of the curry powder. Let it cook for say 2-3 min and then add string beans and the spinach and add all the spices mentioned above. Do not add more than a pinch of blak pepper. As this mixture is almost cooked add a little bit of the cream (perhaps 2-3ml, not too much).

Let it cook for 3-4 more minutes. This mixture might look bit soggy but its supposed to be that way. It is not the prettiest cooking mixture as it is totally green, but believe me it tastes soooooo good.

Once you have this mixture ready, heat up 1/4 of your turkish bread, either in the oven or grill. Cut open the bread but not all the way and to this bread you can add a sauce of your choice or hummus. I went with simple yoghurt but you can skip the sauce altogether. To this add the mixture you prepared. On the side cut up some cucumber, it compliments the döner awesomely.

Easy peasy right? Best part is its super green and super healthy. You can recreate this with any leftovers you have. Just replace the spinach with your leftovers.

Hope you like it. Go green.


Written by @things, 2018, All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Yummmy 😋 . Very creative, thank you for sharing

Thank you so much.

@things. Thanks for your recipes to prepare duck meat. I´ll try the first one, at first. Have a nice day!

Following and having my hubby make this!! Healthy!! And my Mum would say, "eat all you food because the children in India are starving". (The 50's) lol But you were making great yummy foods to eat!!

Heheheh some or us were but most of us were starving yes. But we always knew how to make the most of everything. Hope you enjoy the recipe.

wow awesome too hot

Wao amazing coloures beautifull

My God no doubt it looks very good that, thanks for sharing

It looks so good! It should be delicious. Thank you @things for sharing this recipe.

I hope you enjoy it. Thank you for such kind words.

Wow great photography all the images are amazing..... foods looks really good and delicious and yummy thank you for sharing the recipe....

Aww thank you so much. Means so much. You should try the recipe. Hope you enjoy it.

I will surely try the recipe

Damn.. I loved this! Creative ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78