Filipino Pork Kare-Kare | UK Style | Easy to Follow Recipe

in #recipe6 years ago

PORK KARE-KARE RECIPE | KARE-KARENG PATA NG BABOY

I love to cook new recipes and when my better half mentioned some of his favourite Filipino dishes I had to 'attempt' to cook them. Keeping in mind I'm neither Filipino or a cook, these are what I suppose is my UK interpretation of the dishes. I've enjoyed a fair few dishes from the Philippines - Sinigang, Pancit Canton, Tinola, Adobo and a few more, I want to kick start my Steemit journey with some recipes and wellness and I suppose, Kare-Kare is a great way to start it off.

What is Kare-Kare?

Originally this dish came from Pampanga which is just north of Manila in the Philippines. The sauce equivalent is not unlike satay but I think that's mostly because both have a smooth peanut sauce taste. Although the name ''Kare'' is derived from the word ''Kari'' it doesn't taste like curry at all. It's not spicy, it's not hot, its more of a smooth and warming taste - much like the satay that most people know.

Hint: The recipe can be adapted to suit what you have in your fridge, swap the meat for another - beef, pork, lamb, duck even. And, if you only have pak choi, cabbage, carrots even - try using those instead of the broccoli.

Untitled design (17).png

Dinner's Served! Photo Copyright Sweet Elyse

Ingredients

▶ 500g Pork Belly
▶ 2 litres Water
▶ 1 tbsp Olive oil
▶ 250g Green beans
▶ Pack of Broccoli

Kare-Kare Sauce
▶ 2 cups Pork Broth (from cooking the pork belly)
▶ 60g sliced Onions
▶ 1 tbsp crushed garlic
▶ 1 tbsp Olive oil
▶ 1/4 cup Roasted peanuts - chopped
▶ 3 large tbsp Peanut Butter
▶ 1/2 tbsp Shrimp paste
▶ Salt & Pepper
▶ Cornflower (optional)

How to Cook
▼ In a large pot, boil the pork belly in the water, season with salt and pepper. Set aside the pork broth.
▼ Saute onion in the oil and add the garlic and chopped peanuts.
▼ Add the reserved pork broth, peanut butter and shrimp paste to the pot and simmer for around ten minutes.
▼ If you wish your sauce to be thicker, add a little cornflour until it thickens, season the sauce well.
▼ In a steamer (Or in the microwave if you don't have one) add the broccoli. Cook until tender. If using a microwave, add the broccoli to some water in a bowl and cook until soft.
▼ In a new pot, saute garlic and onion in some oil. Once browned, add in the cooked pork belly.
▼ Crisp the pork belly fat (optional)
▼ Mix in the sauce and simmer for approx. 10mins.
▼ Serve with rice and enjoy!

That wraps up my UK equivalent of a super moorish Filipino recipe. Have you ever tried Kare-Kare? if so, how does your recipe differ from mine? I'd love to hear your thoughts...

Love, Elyse x

All photo's my own. Full copyright owned by myself.

Sort:  

Yummm, and welcome to Steemit Land :D

Thank you, its lovely to e-meet you :)

It is! You just cannot beat the Moorish taste of peanut sauce. Do you like it with anything else? Chicken skewers with satay/peanut sauce is a big hit in my household.

I am not too sure . But I do love it.

Do you like cooking with beer? Try it with a Amber Ale next time.

I do! Cannot beat beer in brownies or in a good casserole and stew. I will absolutely check out the amber ale. Thanks for the recommendation beercraft 😊

Congratulations @sweetelyse! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you so much! Hugely appreciated :)

As a Filipino, I applaud you for your effort to cook Kare-kare, and other Filipino dishes. Too bad, you can only share with us pictures and words. We're curious as to what your version tastes like. :)

Thank you @kryptik.tigrr3d if you're ever up this neck of the woods let me know. :) what other Filipino dishes would you recommend I give a try? We're huge fans of Tinola, Pancit Canton and Sinigang.

Try dinuguan, pronounced dee-noo-goo-ann, a.k.a. pork blood stew. Since you're Scottish, I know you love blood, hehehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28