PLUM JAM - STEEMIAN STYLE #2

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

I think I'm wandering too much in the Steemian Forest lol.
It's time to share something yummy!!! Family and friends presenting to you..PLUM JAM!!

This is a very unique jam, especially if cook it outside, on an open fire. It smells sooo good. You don't see this much, do you?

Yummy looking Plums
plums.jpeg

We usually make jams, kompot (fruits or vegetables stored in jars) in the summer in Bulgaria. You may be wondering why so many jams? I'll tell you why...

Most of the "Babo's" grandma's would make all kind of different jams, plums apricot, berries, apples and kompot during the summer time. My mom in law got plenty of veggies and fruits in the garden especially in the summer time.

We usually make jams or kompot out of it, around 30-50 jars to keep for the entire winter. Winter in Bulgaria can get really really bad. It's freezing cold it can reach up to -25 C or more. Yes, they are always ready in the winter just in case they couldn't go outside for months.

Let's cook Plums
plum.jpeg

We cook it in a big old pan (very old) and then put sugar. My mom in law loves sweet jams lol so plenty of sugar. Cook and stir until everything melts. After that we put the jam in a sterilized bottles. Close it tight, very tight. We usually use this kind of metal thing to tight the top ( I can't remember the name).

Yummy looking Plums
plums.jpeg

Old bottles in the garage. Look at that, so many!!! I'm sure these jars are enough to keep jams and kompot.
bote.jpeg

Then we put the bottled jams in a big pan and boil it for hours. It's like cooking it again but this time everything is sealed. This preserves the jam longer.

Cooking outside is so much fun! We put the jars here and boil it.
kal.jpeg

Ganito po ang paggawa nila ng mga jams sa ibang bansa, kakaiba at madamihan parang laging handa sa gyera. Mahaba ang winter sa Bulgaria, minsan aabutin hanggang marso o april nagye yelo pa den. Ang ginagawa nila nag iipon sila ng mga prutas at gulay para meron silang pagkain sa winter. Mahirap den ano kapag nasa malamig na lugar. Hindi lahat ng prutas o gulay pedeng mabili sa palengke kaya sila at nag iipon tuwing summer para sa tag lamig. Hindi kagaya sa mainit na bansa na maraming prutas o gulay buong taon.

Salamat po at sana ay may bago kayong nadiskubre mula sa ibang sulok ng mundo. Ako ay pilipino sa puso at diwa!

Hope you like it guys!
Feel free to comment if you like cooking in the wild lol

Yours truly,
The village girl @sunnylife in the Steemian Forest

Sort:  

Making Jam is a way of benefiting from the harvest for months to come. We make Jams from Figs, orange and strawberry. I think Fig is my favourite especially when the sugar is dark and smokey, gives a rich flavour. I like plum jam too but we don't have many plums here. Too hot and humid.

I never tried jam figs yet, it's must be really delicious. I love figs fresh or dried:)
They grow a lot berries, apricot,plums in BG but not oranges because of the climate.
thanks for dropping by.

Great way to enjoy the ones that are marked or mishappen. Ugly fruit makes beautiful yummy jam.

Looks delicious! There's something awesome about cooking outside

It is delicious! :) It's always fun to cook outside on and open fire:)
thanks for dropping by.

I love this post and I love your bio/description! Followed you and I can't wait to see more of your content!

thanks for dropping by, I have also some vegan or vegetarian recipe on my wall, feel free to look at it:)I'm glad you like it.

Looks nice ^^

thank you:)

Looks so yummy sis @sunnylife

thank you sis. parang probinsya lang hehehe
chika tau ulet pag may time:)

You are welcome sis.
Sige Pero di tayo nagkakaabutan miss na kita ka usap sis @sunnylife.

my family also makes jams and kompots. i like to bake cookies with jam ^_^

I love them too, especially in the winter we eat them all lol.
Do you cook it outside too?

we have a summer kitchen with a gas stove, sometimes we cook it in a house kitchen but it's hot so summer kitchen is been used more often :)

It'sjust fun to cook outside especially in the summer.
or just BBQ the peppers or any kind of vegetables.
thanks for stopping by. See you around.

@reinikaerrant
great comment... hope to vist your family and have a taste... nice one dear.. so can i see some of your cookies?

@kenhudoy we don't life on a very big planet, so anything might happend!
next time i bake i will make some pictures and i'll show them to you :D

Great @reinikaerrant
Will be expecting it... Find time & check out my last two blog post...quite a good read ... Thanks...

@sunnylife very lovely plum jam... little wonder your life seems so sunny! healthy living and making your stuffs yourself.. keep it up
and thank you for sharing

salamat po @kenhudoy

salamat po too @sunnylife
Do find time also to check my blog post
..got good post for you there...

I love plum jam! We make it without sugar, in a big pot, on outside fire.
Up and resteemed!

Thank you so much @kalemandra!
I love kompot also, so juicy and no preservatives.
So nice of you!! Thanks for stopping by.

Congratulations @sunnylife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I make jams too! I taught myself and it's always nice to open some summer jam in the middle of winter (I'm Canadian). It's so nice you grew up making it with your whole family. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for dropping by. Yeah,that's the thing I like the most, doing it together with my family, simple and memorable as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49