Red Lentils with Avocado Salad - Recipe

in #recipe6 years ago

By Buntysmum on pixabay.com


There I go, promising to focus more on my main blog, and promptly posting a recipe here.

Eh.

This salad was created when I only had red lentils, two mushy avocados, and some stuff I always have (like garlic) at home. There was no option to go buy more and I was hungry - so I mixed and matched. The result is pretty tasty!



2 Servings, ca. 530 kcal (more or less, depending on how much avocado you use)


What you need:

  • 200g red lentils
  • 2 Avocados
  • Garlic
  • Olive Oil
  • Vinegar
  • 1 lemon (Or lemon juice)
  • Salt, pepper, paprika powder

First, chop up some garlic (2-3 cloves) and throw it in a pot with a tablespoon full of hot olive oil. Take care to not burn the garlic (like I did... eh.)

IMG_20181004_123815.jpg

While it sizzles a bit, wash 200g of red lentils with lukewarm water. Then, add the lentils (together with a little bit of water) to the pot with the garlic.

IMG_20181004_123818.jpg

Add a bit of salt and a bit of vinegar.

IMG_20181004_124017.jpg

Let the lentils cook for a while until they are softer, but not mushy. We don't want lentil soup! They should still have some bite.

While they're cooking, dice the avocado, put it in a bowl, and add the juice of half a lemon.

IMG_20181004_124347.jpg

Add the lentils when done, add salt, pepper, and paprika powder to taste. Mix and serve!

IMG_20181004_125309.jpg

Sort:  

It's the first time I see red lentils. Here in my country green lentils, black and red beans are produced. And other varieties of grains.

I had never heard of red lentils. Every day we learn something new! That recipe must be very tasty!

The cool thing about red lentils is that you don't have to soak them! Technically even washing isn't required. They cook very fast, and soup with them is great with ginger.

At some point I would like to try these lentils, surely so tasty.

Personally, I like them a lot.

I can confirm that this salad is very tasty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77