Amalfi Coast Limoncello recipe

in #recipe7 years ago

Ciao tutti!

I'm fortunate enough to live on the beautiful Amalfi Coast of Italy. Besides teaching and creating things, I run a small tour operation called Inspiration Trips where I organize private tours and cultural experiences for English speakers traveling in Italy. One of the tours that I offer is called the Lemon Tour.

The Lemon Tour takes you on a walk through the famous Amalfi Coast lemon farms to show you how they are grown and explain the importance of this unique type of lemon is to the stability of the beautiful coastline in southern Italy. On the tour you also get to visit the processing plant and see the limoncello factory where you can enjoy a tasting. While I was there I wrote down the recipe so I could make some at home for myself and it sure it delicious!

It's super simple to make too. Enjoy!

Limoncello

1.5 kg Amalfi Coast lemons
1 ltr pure alcohol
1.5 ltr water + 1 kg sugar = simple syrup

Peel lemons and put the rinds in alcohol, wait 3 days.
Remove the rinds after 3 days. Use a cheesecloth to filter any impurities.
Add simple syrup. Bottle & chill. Ready to drink.

fullsizeoutput_662.jpeg

As you can see these made some big bottles. I also let my lemon peels soak for 7 days as I started them one weekend and completed it the next. My next project is to make labels from a design I created a while back. Two of these are gifts I'm shipping back home. I need to make some more and stock up for others. ;)

Share the love

If you enjoyed this post and are planning a trip to Italy, be sure to follow me on Facebook and/or Twitter to see the latest tour offerings. Contact me on the website if you want to book a tour.

Please share this post or website with anyone you know planning a trip to Italy that you believe would be interested in our services or information.

Be sure to upvote, resteem, and/or leave a comment below. :)

Sort:  

Wow, great job! You really did post the recipe! I'm tempted to try to make some myself, using your recipe. Thanks for sharing! :)

Thanks @nicklovesdrums! It's a good one too. Living here I've tasted many at nearly every restaurant or place you go to which makes their own. Some are too sweet and some have too much of an alcohol taste, but this one has a really nice balance. Of course, the Amalfi Lemons are naturally sweeter than the ordinary lemon so I'm not sure how different it will be if you can't get them where you are.

Tried your recipe. It was wonderful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59