Apple Nachos

in #recipe7 years ago

Apple Nachos

Recently with the switch to whole food vegan, I have gave up many things. I have been trying to find something to fill my craving! Something thats not too sweet and unhealthy, but satisfying! There were many recipes. With my recent trip to the Farmers Market, I went a little over board on the apples. So I decided to look for a specific recipe that had apples.

image

Looking through my Plant-Powered Families cook book, I came across Apple nachos. I decided to give it a go, as I thought it would be fun for the kids. The recipe was super easy to follow. We were able to whip it up in a matter of minutes, which to me having four kids, efficiency is key.

image

image

It sure did pay off, everyone enjoyed them. The kids didn't even care they were somewhat healthy. This was just the right treat I was looking for. It was the right amount of sweetness. Probably make this for the kids again. Now I need to find another apple whole food recipe that takes apples. I have so many!

image

image


RECIPE

Ingredients

Spiced Caramel:

  • 1/2 Cup pitted dates
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup + 2-3 tsp water

Apple Base:

  • 3 apples, cored and sliced
  • 2 tsp lemon juice

Nacho Toppings:

  • 3-4 tbsp nut butter (I used almond)
  • 1-2 cups plain popcorn
  • 3-4 tbsp non dairy chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life!)
  • 2-3 tbsp chopped nuts ( I didn't use)
  • 2 tbsp of craisins or raisins (I didn't use)
  • 2 tbsp of shredded coconut
  • l recipe of spiced caramel or 1/4 cup of brown rice syrup ( I used spiced caramel)

Direction

Spiced Caramel:

  1. Puree the dates, cinnamon, nutmeg, sea salt, vanilla and 1/3 cup water into small food processor or blender until smooth.

  2. If too thick add a tbsp of water at a time until smooth. Do not add too much water at once.

  3. Pour into a ziplock bag with the corner cute or icing pipe bag to drizzle on after.

Assembly of nachos:

  1. Spread apples on plate and drizzle with nut butter(use an icing bag or bag with corner cut). This will help toppings stick.

  2. Add all selected toppings.

  3. Drizzle spiced caramel or brown rice syrup over all the toppings.

  4. Serve and enjoy! 😊


Sort:  

yummy looks really tsty thank you for giving the ingredients, amazing shots

Thank you very much.

That looks realy delicious.

It was indeed.

yummy! even though I'm not a vegan, cant stop salivating over your brilliant mix.... welldone!

Thank you.

These look fantastic, something a bit different and it looks like the family loved it. And I approve very much your boys Star Wars T-Shirt - awesome 👍🏽
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thank you. We are all star wars fans here.

Good idea. Seems that the kids like it. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75