[RECIPE WALKTHROUGH] Chorizo & Red Wine Spaghettoni - rich, flavoursome and SUPER EASY!

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

Heyy fellow Steemians,

We're back again for another step-by-step recipe pictorial!


This is one of my go-to recipes for a relatively quick mid-week dinner. From start to finish (including the preparation) I'd say you could have this on the table in 45mins. It's not one of those 'super-quick' pastas as I do like to let the sauce develop some flavour and depth but trust me it is worth that TINY bit of extra effort :) 

Here we go...

1. Ingredients required


2. Dice carrots, onions + garlic


3. Slice chorizo - I used fresh chorizo, not the dry-aged one. 


4. Pan with olive oil on medium heat


5. Add in the chorizo 


6. ...until golden brown. Doesn't have to be fully cooked as it'll finish cooking in the sauce, we just want to get some colour on the chorizo.


7. Remove chorizo and add onion + garlic + carrots


8. Once they've developed some colour...


9. ...add the halved cherry tomatoes. Doesn't have to be cherry, any ripe leftover tomatoes will work! I like to add both fresh and tinned (later) for a lovely, deep tomato flavour.


10. Once the cherry tomatoes have been softened for a bit, add a squirt of tomato paste


11. Mix around the paste to get some colour and 'waken' it up


12. Red wine! Use a red wine you would drink but it does not have to be expensive! This was only $7 for 1L. You only need about half a cup to a cup. 


13. Let it simmer...


14. Reduce by half

(wouldn't be my post if I didn't have a GIF of something simmering haha)

15. Add a tin of whole, unpeeled tomatoes. I like to also add some water to the tin to get out all the tomato juice that's still left in there...no waste in this household! Also you do need extra water anyway as when you simmer it will evaporate some of it.


16. When it has thickened, add chorizo


17. Add fresh basil (this was from our little basil pot we have growing :) )


18. Chopped fresh parsley


19. Pot of boiling water (probably didn't need a photo for this but since we're on a roll..)


20. Spaghettoni in! 

Remove once it's al dente, RESERVE A CUP OF THE PASTA WATER! 


21. Serve....


Note that I do like to add a bit of the sauce to the pasta + pasta water and 'emulsify'. Pasta water is starchy and helps to really let the sauce become a bit thicker and attach itself to the pasta. 

Yum, yum, yum.


There are SO many pasta dishes so this is just my variation and I've made it many, many times and this is the best recipe I've found that works every time for me. (Trust me I made a lot of average pastas but this has a real depth of flavour and everyone who eats it is very pleasantly surprised!)

As usual, let me know what you guys think! 

@phamished xx 

Sort:  

This is great! I love Chorizo too! I love everything! lo!! You made your picture into a GIF!! Teach me how, it's so cool man! If that was you who did the plating, it looks terrific.

Well done, the next time I get myself a chorizo I will refer back to this post for sure!

Hahaha, I'm like you, I comment on people's post saying I like the dish but then I realise I like everything too..such a dilemma.

I did! I was Googling a bit before I found some good reliable ways to do it.

  1. Record your video and generally it's saved as a .MOV file
  2. Upload it to https://convertio.co/mov-gif/ --> this will convert it to a GIF
  3. Download it and now it will be a GIF
  4. I use imgur.com to upload my GIFs and JPGs so you can use this too or whatever upload tool you use, as long as it's capable of uploading GIFs. Otherwise just use the imgur.com one I do and then make sure when you paste it just type in '.GIF' at the end and that's it !

I did do the plating haha, I've never been good at plating so thank you for the compliment!! At least my efforts were appreciated by someone haha

Sounds like a plan this week :)

Something new i learnt today. Chorizo is what we call pork sausages in Goa. I never knew it was a European thing. Googled it up and realised it is probably a gift from the Portuguese.

The ones we get in Goa, India, is high on spice and vinegar. Red chilli powder provides both the colour and flavour to the meat. Even for my Indian taste buds it is spicy! I wonder what an average European will make of it.

After seeing the pictures, i am truly phamished :p

Oh really? Wow interesting because here in Australia we have Chorizo which is the spicy, Spanish sausage whereas pork sausages are typically not spicy at all and contain just pork (with other neutral seasonings).

Thanks for taking the time to write an interesting comment and bravo on using the word phamished haha

That's looks to me like a delicous saucy pasta. It sure appears flavoursome, the gifs you make sure bring to life the food you make. Keep up the good work!

Thanks @rxtro. It was really flavoursome and easy to make too. Doesn't take much longer than the usual '30-min' pasta recipes :)

This is so nicely explained and presented as an arranged bravo

yes great presentation

Thanks @nomadinsoco! It took a couple goes to see what worked best but I’m glad you liked it!

Congratulations @phamished! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yay thanks !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84