Recipes with @magistra: Paleo Crackers

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

Oh No! I'm out of Brown Sugar! (3).png

These are a staple in our house - you can use them in place of crackers or as a bread subsitute. Note that we use a Demarle silpat. If you don't have one, I highly recommend you get one! One of the best purchases I've ever made!

2 cups almond meal (I get this at Trader Joe's - cheapest almond flour I've found)
2 egg whites
2 garlic cloves (I use 2 of the frozen Dorot brand garlic cubes, also from Trader Joe's, but fresh cloves would of course be better )
1.5 tbsp olive, walnut oil or grapeseed oil (I especially like Wildtree's grapeseed oil)
Dash of salt
Dash of paprika

Mix all ingredients together
Put the resulting dough ball onto your silpat
Cover with wax paper and roll out with a rolling pin to about 1/8 inch. Try to get it an even thickness so it bakes evenly
Remove the wax paper
Bake at 350 for 14 minutes
Let cool and break into pieces

We eat these most often with a bowl of tuna and paleo mayo. Dip these in and it's like the best tuna sandwich you've ever had minus the bread! I keep them in an airtight container and they don't seem to go stale ever.

I picked up some little flower shaped cookie cutters. We cut them into shapes and they turned out great. It's a little more tedious to break them apart, so I won't do this when we're in a hurry!

IMG_5756.JPG

IMG_5758.JPG

IMG_5759.JPG

IMG_5760.JPG

Libertas Perfundet Omnia Luce.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43