Recipes with @magistra: Out of Brown Sugar?

in #recipe7 years ago

Oh No! I'm out of Brown Sugar! (2).png

Have you ever started a recipe and realized you were out of brown sugar? If you have molasses on hand, never fear! Just add 2 tablespoons of molasses to every cup of white sugar.

Don't have molasses either? How about that delicious maple syrup you put on your breakfast...that can also work as a substitute with just a lightly different flavor.

I find it easiest to mix with a knife, to cut the molasses or syrup into the sugar.

Don't forget to lick the spoon when you're done, molasses actually has health benefits! It contains vitamins and minerals, and has the lowest sugar content of any surgar cane product.

Libertas Perfundet Omnia Luce.png

Sort:  

I learned the maple syrup trick over the Christmas holiday when my great niece was making chocolate chip cookies. She is a baker in the making!

I actually kind of like it better than regular brown sugar now - the molasses flavor gives my cookies a nice rich flavor!

I am going to give the molasses a try. Thank you for the tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58