How to make spaghetti one of the HEALTHIEST and FASTEST meals available?

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)

@lifenbeauty writing about cooking, who could tell. I have been living in Italy for one year during my elementary school with my aunt who was a professional cook. Since that time, I have developed a passion for testing out and perfecting different ways to prepare spaghetti. When you couple this with my interest in fitness and healthy nutrition, you could guess that, sooner or later, I had to come up with a very tasty and healthy spaghetti recipe.

The problem with the spaghetti prepared by my aunt (as well as the vast majority of other cooks and restaurants) is that their pastas were quite delicious but ranged from casual to outright unhealthy food. The vast majority of spaghetti is made from ordinary T400/T500 flour (low nutritional value) + sauces that can be healthy (for example: olive oil, onion, tomato, garlic, parsley, and tuna), unhealthy (for example: greasy sour cream + bacon), or something in-between.

Now that we have gone through the "historical and theoretical background", I’ll go right down to the recipe:

  • Find and buy 300-500g of spaghetti or macaroni made exclusively from a mixture of buckwheat flour and whole wheat flour. This should be readily available in all larger supermarkets. Please note that the cooking time for this type of pasta is quite shorter than usual, so do check the label for suggested cooking time! If you have ever prepared a pasta, you know that you will cook the raw spaghetti or macaroni in a separate pot and strain them before mixing them with a sauce.

The basics for a healthy sauce are the following:

  1. Fry one chopped onion in olive oil until it gets a glassy but not brownish look
  2. Add 300-500ml of pasteurized tomato juice and cook it for about 10 minutes
  3. Add essential spices including garlic powder, fennel seeds, parsley or basil, and salt
  4. If you like spicy food (I do), you can also add paprika powder and pepper
  5. Continue cooking for about 5 more minutes

You have a couple of good options for completing the sauce in a fast and healthy way:

  1. Add a canned tuna/mackerel fillets (no need to cook this, just grind it with a fork and add it to the basic sauce once it is finished)
  2. Add 200-300g of ground beef (this needs be fried a bit in olive oil together with the chopped onion)
  3. I find parsley to go better with beef and basil with fish

There you go! In about 15-20 minutes, you have prepared a quite tasty launch that includes healthy cereals, healthy vegetables, healthy spices, healthy oil, and healthy fish/meet.

Make one of your remaining meals of the day a smoothie made from kefir or yogurt with fruits and honey, and you have taken all essential types of food without any unhealthy ingredients.

Please let me know:

  • Do you have any other very healthy and tasty version of a common quick meal?

For those of you who don't follow me (yet), this is quite a different than my usual articles. My last article was "the most disturbing human experiments that could never happen today" and my following article will be about the Bystander Effect. Stay tuned if you like psychology, philosophy, and social norms!

Have a wonderful day, week, and life!

Image sources: 1, 2.

Sort:  

This is one of my top ten meals of all time. Thanks for sharing how to cook it in a healthy way, and it sounds delicious too. The best of both worlds :)

You're most welcome, thanks for stopping by! : )

Congratulations!

This post has been upvoted and resteemed as a thank you for being one of the top @sexywhalebot supporters.

Have a sexy and profitable day! : ]

Great recipe I'll give it a try sometime! It's amazing what you can create with enough time, and ingenuity!

Thank you, I'm glad you like it! : )

Whatever you write, it sounds so great and professional!
I am impressed and proud how from such a usual meal you made a great healthy recipe + a story around to get us engaged.

I hope that, besides upvote for my flattering words, sometimes I'm invited to these special spagetti as well, since I have no time to cook, since I work hard every day. Thanks.

Thank you so much for your lovely flattering words, you earned the special spaghetti invite (in addition to my stunning $0.03 upvote)! 😊

You mean, you don't have time to cook since you plan on working hard every day? 😄 😛

This looks so delectable! Thank you for sharing, I may have to show the lady and see if she'd like to munch on some scrumptious sghetti with smoothies.

Keep Steeming You Food Freak!

You're welcome, good luck with your lady! : )

I will definitely have to make this because I absolutely love pasta and sauce and I have been trying to cut out simple carbs since they are terrible for you. Upvoting and resteeming so I can make this for me and my boys! Thanks

Thank you for the support. Yes, it's much easier to cut out fat & sugar than simple carbs. Cheers! : )

Your article is pretty good, but you should really add the sources of your images to your post. Definitely make sure you also have rights to use those images commercially.

Not that I personally mind, it's just that you could get in serious legal trouble if you don't follow copyright law. Especially since everything is stored on the Steemit blockchain.

Thank you for the tip. Are you positive that the disclaimer in not good enough?

The disclaimer was what prompted me to write this response actually.

You mention that you don't own the rights to this image, yet don't list any source or give any credit to the author.

Thank you. Image sources updated as per your tip! : )

User friendly recipe ! Easy for novice too !

Yes, it is quite easy to make. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57171.31
ETH 3134.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26