My five absolute favorite alcoholic beverages.

in #recipe8 years ago (edited)

These are my top 5 alcoholic drinks.

  • Negroni

Recipe for this classic cocktail is:

One part Gin
One Part sweet vermouth
One part Campari
garnish with orange twist or wheel

Most recipes call for you to serve this over ice in an old-fashioned glass but me and my roommie have just been putting the gin in the freezer and chilling the other parts in the fridge. I was only introduced to this drink a week ago and it is now my all-time favorite cocktail. The gin and tonic has been pushed to #2 in my book, though I will drink it a lot more often as Negroni is one expeeeeensive cocktail. But if you want to occasionally live it up with this classic, yet fancy as fuck cocktail, I strongly recommend it. It's got a strange taste that may not be for everyone. My roommate told me it tasted hand-soapy the first time he tried it and, he was right, it did but each time I drink it I find myself tasting the sweeter notes and not the soapiness.

  • Gin & Tonic


Like I said, gin and tonic is #2 for me. I actually hated gin and tonic for years after having tried one at a concert and feeling it tasted like hairspray but years later someone made me a gin and tonic with tanqueray and I loved it, a little too much. Gin is the only liquor I actually enjoy drinking. The recipe is darn tootin' simple too:

2 ounces gin (I prefer tanqueray)
3-4 ounces of tonic water
lime wedges to garnish

My roomates thinks I am the worst for this but I like my gin & tonic with martini olives in it.

  • Bloody Mary

This cocktail I actually can no longer enjoy due to multiple health issues, but mainly GERD as my IC has been easing up after a very long, terrible flare. However, I still remember this cocktail fondly and will probably at some point regret deciding I can enjoy just one. I haven't in years. Also, I am vegan so I have never tried a traditional bloody mary and though there is a vegan "Worcestershire sauce" -Glad I am typing that and not saying it- but I never did use it. I just skipped it and always added more spice than the recipe called for. But here is a classic recipe:

One part vodka (2oz)
Two parts tomato juice (4oz)
A few dashes of Tabasco sauce
2 dashes Worchestire sauce (spelled it w/o spell-check that time! :D )
2 TBSP prepared horseradish
1 pinch salt
1 pinch pepper
1 pinch smoked paprika (love that stuff!)
add celery salt to the rim of the glass

To garnish add celery stalk and lime wedge.
(This is a fun drink to try out new veggies with and is often customized with a personal twist by different establishments and bartenders.)

I find this to be a great "I woke up at 1pm with a killer hangover" drink, and if you add some extra garnish, it's kinda like a meal? Okay, don't take my advice but at least try a bloody Mary if you haven't.

  • IPA/Double IPA/Pale ale

I only recently even read about what the actual difference is between the three and still hardly recall, though I do remember that IPAs are a style that is supposed to be hoppier than pale ales. My absolute favorite IPA as of right now is Dogfishhead 120 minute which you can only occasionally get. I haven't even seen dogfishhead since moving to MN and if not for all the other amazing beers here I have to try, I would be sad. I will probably end up finding an IPA I like more. I actually tried a double pale ale, that didn't say "IPA" but pale ale and was hoppy as fuck so I am not sure what makes it not an IPA but it is called "Day tripper" double pale ale and is fucking delicious and has amazing art on the can. Yeah, I sometimes am sold by the can art. I went to school for graphic design, sue me.

  • Stout

I had my first stout when I was nineteen and it was the well-known guinness. I fell in love immediately and drank guinness quite often until finding out it was filtered with fish-bladder and thus, not vegan. I was pretty fucking sad about it and recently found out they no longer use fish bladder. Although, I have since tried many stouts I like more than guinness I will probably still pick some up for ole' times sake. Stouts are quite heavy so I am not always in the mood and even when I am can only have 2 tops but they are sure delicious.

Well, there you have it.

It was really hard not including more beers. I honestly don't like much liquor so that was easier. I hate the taste of whiskey and scotch and really wish I didn't but, try as I might, it takes AWFUL to me and I am pretty convinced there is a conspiracy entirely dedicated to convincing me that anyone actually likes, let alone loves, the taste of these drinks. Kidding, but really I would feel a lot cooler if I could just drink some whiskey on the rocks. I also really want a reason to get whiskey rocks. I mean sure I can use em for other drinks...but....it wouln't be the same. ( ._.)

Shit, I forgot about red wine....

Drink responsibly, guys!

Photos:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/9925629@N05/13979819930

https://www.flickr.com/photos/jganderson/4156232423

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gin_and_tonic

https://www.flickr.com/photos/fourbrewers/14604566677

Wikimedia commons - Guinness

Sort:  

Hello lauralemons, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave. We are currently in alpha testing, if you would like more info join robinhood chat on steemit.chat or pm @repholder.

Great List - Keep on Steeming!

oh my! now I'm thirsty.... time to get my drink on, who says you cant drink before 12pm :)

I felt the same writing this and looking up photos but I have a loooot of stuff to do today so I will wait until tonight. (I'll be trying a new cocktail tonight too! Maybe I will start taking nice photos of my own cocktails and share lists every so often as I gather new ones)

belgian beer!! The best in the world. Some names: Chimay, Gouden Carolus, Kwak

Thank you. I will definitely try to find them! :D

You can't beat a good Gin and Tonic! Try one with Bombay Sapphire, it's SMOOOOTH

I will! Have you ever tried a negroni? You may like it. I am so hooked. XD

No but I will now!

Love Gin n Tonic...or mother's ruin as they call it :-)

haha, they are definitely my weakness!

Being a bartender I definitely appreciate it when I see a post about booze... And I do enjoy knocking back a few, too. You are going to love the post I am going to pop-up today, Cheers @lauralemons

Oh, you're a bartender? Cooool. :D

Great choices! I remember my first Guinness!

Thanks! I am finna be trying a Moscow mule for the first time tonight, copper mug and all. I will definitely take pics for my next post. :) It's got ginger beer so I will probably like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61265.70
ETH 3429.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50