The Ooooohs, Aaaaaahs and OMGs of Gluten-Free Pumpkin Cake

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)

When I first tried this crazy recipe, I couldn't believe how incredible it tasted. It won't last very long if you have several mouths to feed because you can count on everyone getting extra servings. I have made it for my family and friends several times and notice that most end up with an extra portion or two. Most common feedbacks are that people are shocked that gluten-free can taste this good and surprised by the moistness of the cake.

Incredibly Fluffy and Moist

Before this recipe, I was not a big pumpkin cake fan so this recipe obviously changed my views. Here's a picture of the finished product.

2_1074x864.jpg

I believe the main reason the bread is so fluffy and moist is because I use Pamela's gluten-free pancake mix. The pancake mix is made from rice flour and almond meal with no added sugar. I use this flour for everything from baking, pancakes, and breading for chicken and fish.

IMG_20180202_160259_864x1152.jpg

Recipe for Gluten-Free Pumpkin Cake

Ingredients

Dry Ingredients
2 cups of Pamela's Gluten Free Baking and Pancake Mix
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
Dash of salt
¼ tsp of cloves
¼ tsp of nutmeg
¼ tsp of allspice
1 tsp of cinnamon

Wet Ingredients
4 eggs
1 ½ cups of brown sugar
¾ cup Canola oil
1 can of pumpkin (15 oz)

Optional
¾ cup of Walnuts (or nut of choice)

1. Preheat oven to 350°

2. Mix dry ingredient in a large bowl

IMG_20180219_125454_864x1152 (1).jpg

3. Mix wet ingredients in a medium bowl

IMG_20180202_155133_864x1152.jpg

IMG_20180202_155210_864x1152.jpg

4. Mix wet and dry ingredients together

IMG_20180202_155344_864x1152.jpg

5. Fold in walnuts (or nut of choice)

IMG_20180219_130807_864x1152.jpg

6. Pour evenly in 9 x 13 lightly greased baking pan

IMG_20180202_155957_864x1152.jpg

7. Bake at 350° for 22 to 25 minutes

As soon as the toothpick comes out clean, it's done. The key is to stand guard and make sure it doesn't burn the bottom. I find with my pre-heated oven and a 9 x 13 pan, 22 minutes is perfect. You'll obviously need to adjust the baking time depending on if you're using another size pan such as a loaf or cupcake pan.

IMG_20180202_162506_864x1152.jpg

Feedback from a Happy Partaker 😋

I hear Oooohs and Ahhhhs all the time when I make this pumpkin cake... bread... bar. I gave my husband an unfrosted cake to bring to his office today. Here's a text that I just received from one of his coworkers. I believe there were six coworkers that ate it and apparently, most of the cake is gone!

message_648x1152.jpg

Final Thoughts

  • Pamela's Baking and Pancake Mix is seriously the bomb! I've never baked this recipe using anything else. On that note, I believe this recipe would still be good using regular flour. If anyone else uses regular flour, please let me know if it was more fluffy and moist than a normal cake.
  • I chose to be specfic with using Canola oil because I heard that Canola oil is the best oil for baking.
  • When mixing ingredients, don't overmix.
  • Cream cheese frosting is really good on this if you want to add frosting. If you want the frosting recipe, comment below.

Recent Posts

So, my Steem Peeps, thank you so much for stopping by! I adore you all to pieces!! 😘

karencarrens Steemit footer.gif

Sort:  

I am not a big fan of pumpkin cake but I must say that looks so good
tip!

Hi @tattoodjay! It may be worth a try... everyone seems to say the same thing... including me, the first time I tried it. 😆

I may try it this weekend while the Kids are here

We cook some recipes with generic rice flour. Never used a rice flour pancake mix, but that cake looks awesome.

@coldsteem... hmmmm... maybe I should try it with generic rice flour too! Thanks for the idea!

Looks delicious and simple to make :) thanks for posting (love the Pictures) - upvoted and following!

This post has received gratitude of 2.52 % from @appreciator thanks to: @karencarrens.

This looks excellent and yummy. Little wonder one can't get enough of it. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Keep it up.

How lovely food

Oh wow this looks so delicious! Thank you for sharing!

It really is delish! 😍

I'm not big on pumpkin, but my boys adore it and this is going in my bookmarks for Thanksgiving :)

Awww, kitty's here! So glad you to see you! BTW, @arbitrarykitten, how did you move go?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57