Sprouted Lentils Salad RecipesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #recipe7 years ago

The following recipe I had not done in a while. It was taken from Le Guide des Bons Gras. At the end of this healthy fats book, there is a small cuisine section where I got to learn about it.

I don't consider myself as having particular cooking talents, so bare in mind that I'm sharing my food preparing experience, in part for the pleasure of inspiring others but, mostly to motivate myself for the purpose of developing better personal cooking habits.


Sprouted Lentils Salad Recipe

Photo 030.jpg

The ingredients list:

  • 500 ml./2 cup of sprouted lentils
  • 60 ml./4 tbsp of fresh citrus juice
  • 60 ml./4 tbsp of tahini/sesame butter
  • 45 ml./3 tbsp of fresh parsley
  • 30 ml./2 tbsp of tamari/soy sauce
  • 2 green onions

A little bit of freestyle

Right of the bat, I have to highlight the discrepancies between the suggested list and the ingredients I actually used. Having already cut an entire bag of red onions for another purpose, I chose to grab some instead of running at the grocery store for the green variety. The difference in taste between the two is major, but being a big fan of all things onion, I decided to try with what I already had. My real mistake was in fact to not make them into smaller pieces.

Also, you'll note that there is three citrus in the picture. Only one was necessary at the time. Guilty as charged for not having fresh parsley and for not using tamari (which supposedly tastes less salty than the regular soy sauce I chose).

As for the lentils, obviously I did not take the time to sprout them. Thing I've never done before. I have no idea whatsoever as to how, or if, it would have changed the taste, but it's easy to find how to grow them instructions on the web, and I might actually try next time.


Photo 017.jpg

Preparation:

  • whip together a small dose of water with the soy sauce, the sesame butter and the citrus juice
  • pour the mix on top of the lentils, the onions and the parsley

Photo 010.jpg

Nutritional values

According to the Guide, you'll get four portions out of the above quantities.

One portion's values:

  • 172 calories
  • 13 grams of proteins
  • 12 grams of glucids
  • 8 grams of lipids
  • 0 cholesterol
  • 0.02 of saturated fat
  • 508 milligrams of sodium
  • 184 milligrams of potassium
  • a good source of iron and calcium

Photo 007.jpg

Making the recipe

I started by brewing the liquids into a bpa-free plasctic bowl, then I added its content into a second metallic bowl where the other half of the ingredients were.

Then, I noticed the result was too liquid for my taste, so I decided to use a sieve to eliminate the surplus which had not soak the lentils and the onions.

Photo 002.jpg

Final Tip

As soon as I had finished putting it together, I tasted it only to find that it was way more bitter than I remembered it should be. I ate a bit of it, and I stored the rest in the refrigerator. When I picked it up again, one or two day after, to my surprise it had gained back the good taste I used to associate it with the meal. The reason? The parsley have had time to impregnate the food!

Conclusion: lay it to rest before plunging your spoon into it. It will taste much better.

Sort:  

looks good, always heard lentils were blood building food... very healthy!

Tastes good, too. Didn't know about lentils being good for blood building... thanks!

Great way to add extra protein! Followed

This looks delicious and it improves as it ages. I like that.

Yeah, perfect to bring along for some outdoor activity such as trekking! Followed also.

This looks absolutely amazing! I love that it gets better with age- I am betting the citrus has a lot to do with it! You got my follow!

Hadn't thought about the citrus factor. Thanks for reading & thanks for the follow! Following you too now!

Hello @heroic15397, I knew that parsley was evil!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49