COCONUT CEVICHE!~steemCreated with Sketch.

in #recipe7 years ago

I'm gonna show you how I was taught to make coconut ceviche, and ever since I learned I loved it so much that I'd make enough to have whenever we want! :)



First things first, gotta get your coconut meat! After draining the coconuts and collecting the water, scoop the meat out, you wanna make sure the meat is semi-hard, not too mushy, not too thick.



Then you'll gather your ingredients which will be; coconut, limes, cilantro, onion, garlic, salt, and a spice.



Clean it up and chop it up. Usually I do it the same day I scoop the meat out but I was so sore I waited a couple days and the meat fermented a little, but it might actually be even better this way! :)



After chopping the coconut in thin strips or slivers, slice some limes or lemons and really soak the coconut! I used 4 limes this time.



Then chop a bundle of cilantro as finely as you can!



Then chop an onion as tiny as possible.



Then chop the garlic as small as possible...



Then add salt and spice to your liking! Usually cayenne pepper is great, but my dad has a special Italian spicy pepper called peperoncino that I like to use instead.



Then stir it up real good and let it marinate... or eat it! However, if you keep it in the fridge, it just keeps on getting more delicious each day. I find that the fermentation and slow lemon cooking process only keeps adding flavor and nutrition!



You can also try combing the coco ceviche with avocado for more deliciousness!



And if you really love tropical taste, you can add avocado and mango!



This was definitely a first for me as I always hesitated mixing things, but sometimes its worth it!  Using our friends homegrown avocados and our freshly harvested hu-mangoes mixed in the ceviche was incredibly delicious!  With the tangy sweetness from the mango and the creamy-ness from the avocado it could mix in easily with all the flavors of the ceviche!



I hope this is an easy to follow so that everyone can enjoy some healthy coconut ceviche now too!


Sort:  

Oh My God! I loooove ceviche and I never thought about doing it with coconut, what a super idea!! I must try it!

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed this, sounds like you have to make it! Haha

Good recipe, now I just have to buy the ingredients

Thanks! Yesss, get the ingredients and try it! :D

Wow mate you have culinary talent,
feel hungry, gonna eat something

Thanks @anonimous! Try some coconut ceviche sometime! Hehe :)

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

My pleasure! :)

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

My pleasure! :)

Congratulations @fmatinata! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Mmmmmm, yummy! I especially like the sweet garlic heart 💛

That heart looks like a tiny garlic heart too haha 💛 💚
Super yummy! Though I've been letting it marinate and soak all the flavors for almost 2 days now so it can be optimally delicious! Hehe :D

This looks so delicious. My boyfriend and I both love ceviche and coconut. We will definitely be trying this recipe!

Mmmm perfect for you two then! It's super healthy, easy to make, and extremely delicious! I hope you try it soon because then you'll want to make it way more often! 😋 😜

Thanks for the Post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58049.95
ETH 3128.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21