Easy way to make your own Caesar Salad Dressing at home

in #recipe8 years ago

For years I had been making my Caesar Salad the classic way; in a large wooden bowl.  I'd grind the garlic cloves into the side of the bowl, then the anchovy fillets.  Adding olive oil, dry mustard, Worcestershire sauce, along the way. Always grinding and mixing the ingredients into the side of the large wooden bowl.

Then, just last week, I decided to try a new method.  I wanted to bottle the stuff so that I could have a small helping of Caesar Salad without having to make the large portion required in the 'in the bowl' method.  

I looked in the grocery store at the various brands of bottled salad dressing.  UCK !!!  I didn't recognize half of the ingredients!

Then, I decided to experiment.  I got out my trusty food processor/blender and began.  I added each ingredient that i had heretofore rubbed into the side of the wooden bowl, and simply put them into the blender.  Voila!  5 minutes later I had a wonderful, natural, great tasting salad dressing.  

I've experimented a bit further, and the dressing stays fresh and tasty, in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.

This is the recipe I use:

1 clove garlic, halved

1/3 cup olive oil

8 anchovy filets

1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1/4 tsp dry mustard (I use 1/2 tsp because I like my dressing with a bit of a bite!)

1 coddled egg

 

Pour or spoon the bottled mixture over a fresh helping of romaine lettuce.  Then add freshly ground black pepper, croutons, and Parmesan cheese.  You can make however large, or however small a helping you like!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88