The Formation of Proper Principles

in #reason7 years ago

Caspar_David_Friedrich_-_Wanderer_above_the_sea_of_fog.jpg
I am but a young man of only twenty-five years living in America. At this stage of my life, as I think most of those who belong to my demographic, the standards by which I choose my life are becoming a primary concern going forward especially with the prospect of raising a child. Now typically one is drawn to find this answer by looking at the paths of those who have lived before them or in the form of a current conglomerate. During my late teens, I took this path by joining the United States Air Force and spent the majority of my early twenties belonging to a collective. However, I always felt limited by taking such an approach to finding guiding principles as they were the thoughts of someone other than myself. Following my departure from the military, that festering need for a purpose still existed as I bounced from idea to idea in search of some guiding principle. I have studied the thoughts of some of the most profound historical figures from various backgrounds such as Marcus Aurelius to Ayn Rand and I learned of some profound ideas though I always seemed to have some conflict with overall messages. I have attempted so many avenues in search of foundation principles alas I am unable to subscribe to any sort of ideology. So how do I choose a proper path to take the journey of life? From what should I devise my principles if others, whose experience far outweigh mine, do not necessarily suit me? The simple answer – myself.

This answer is typically seen as selfish, egotistical if you will. This assumption is not completely void of justification though there is a clear distinction between drawing conclusions aimlessly and drawing purposeful conclusions, the use of reason. As I intend to not just mimic those who I admire, the short-sided attempt at intellectual growth, but rather to understand the underlining principles which led those before me to draw their own unique conclusions. The common denominator in all of these great thinkers was the utilization of reason which contextualized the essence of all these great individuals. It is here where I reach my first and most important principle for which all others should be derived. The only way to arrive at reasoned conclusions about any aspect of life is to think, not to simply have others tell you what to think or even how to think. The latter being a common misconception but a moment of reflection on the idea shows the treachery in that concept. Not necessarily by those who advocate it but those who learn to manipulate it. No instead, I intend to forge my own path alone free of the possibility of being betrayed in such a manner. It is this misunderstanding of true reason that misguides the likes of young men such as myself who so desperately seek validation of the self. The comfort that begets the path of community, brotherhood and other protective conglomerates are hard to pass up when the alternative of the abyss that is self-reliance is so terrifying to face alone. Even I, with this new understanding, have the temptation of this comfort clawing at my being seeking to separate me from myself. But into the unknown, I diverge with only the application of my intellect to guide my course. Each principle that I set along the way will illuminate both the nature of myself and the darkness of the world.

Sort:  

Good for you! The societal constraints of socially reinforced behavior are not suited for all. Forging and creating a path of your unique choosing is what I believe ‘living’ is supposed to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59