Reality

in #reality6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20180220-215519.jpg



My eyes wander from my bed to the window and I am staring outside. It is a very cold but nice winters' day. Later I will visit my grandmother and play volleyball. What else should I do? Writing or playing the piano? How nice it is to be able to do what I want. This is my life and my reality of this world. I shape this life with my own mind. Things I find entertaining, beautiful or boring may seem like the opposite to others. Everyone notices different things than other people, everyone feels differently, acts differently, looks differently, thinks differently. Everyones' life is different and so is the core of their very existence.


So is there a difference between everyones' reality and their actual perception of life?

It is said that reality is to see things as they actually exist. Is reality infinite through this? Or is there only a reality as long as there are conscious beings to percieve it? Are there multiple realities or is there only one true reality?
I am actually lucky enough to live a relatively free life but this is definitely not the case for everyone on this planet. So in my reality I percieve this world differently than others since my reality is directly shaped by my life. That is why I think, that there is a slightly different reality for everyone on this planet.

At the same time I am asking myself if there may be a reality that includes everones' reality. Something that shows the world how it truly is without judgement or prejudices. But is a conscious being actually able to see something like that or is this ability left for only the gods or whatever may exist outside of human perception?
In my opinion no human will ever be able to see things as they truly are since we subconsciously categorize everthing we percieve. This concept is called ''subjectivism'' in philosophy and is really intriguing in my opinion.
If I state this ''subjectivism'' as the foundation of human perception I unavoidably ask myself if there even is a reality for us humans since we always judge everything. So, to come back to the definition of reality, we cannot see things how they actually are. Since I still have the tendency to think of this world and life as my reality, I ask myself if someone could transform their life however they want, in any direction and change it for the better or worse. To do that we would have to use the power of our mind since the mind is the tool to actually open ourselfs up to see the world and experience our life. Can everyone create their own reality or will this lead into living a dream while reality continues without them seeing at least a part of it?

Would finding answers to those questions actually help with understanding life? Do those answers even exist? Or is it our fate to stumble through this strange thing called life, figuring everything out as we go but never really understanding our very existence?


_________________________________________________________________
I am really interested how you think of that topic. Maybe it doesn't interest you at all and you think it is a waste of time to think about stuff like that? Or maybe you are against the concept of subjectivism? I hope to get some new ideas or maybe even answers because at the moment I mostly have questions without any answers to them.
Thanks a lot for reading until down here and I hope you are having a great day! :)

Sort:  

I've spent alot of time thinking about this in a very similar light... I became completely obsessed with knowing all of the world's answers only to find that maybe we weren't meant to know. So mamy questions and so little answers.
One time, while soul seeking through ketamine and nitris demensions, I reached a vortex and heard a computerized woman's voice say "you are nothing but a feeling." It echoed through my brain as I was sucked further into the vortex. I stopped losing feeling in my body.... Or maybe I ONLY felt my body? I'm not sure but the deeper I spun into the vortex, the more terrified I became. To be nothing but a feeling couldn't possibly be any better than being a human being, capable of multiple feelings and thoughts and all.... I started screaming "No! No, no!" Over and over again and eventually sprung back into reality like a fuckin jack in the box.
There are people who sincerely believe we live within a simulation... And after that k-hole vision, I've questioned it myself.

Wow this is a really crazy thing you experienced there. I have never had that kind of experience but I still like to daydream about stuff like that. I try to imagine different scenarios, for example whether if it would be possible if everything we are is just a feeling or if this world is maybe just a thought of some other being. Maybe also if we are just living within a simulation but to be quite honest I don't really like to think about this life as a simulation. Everything seems too real for me to just be simulated by a computer and I have no idea why somebody would want to do something like that. Either way I don't really understand that concept and scientifically seen I have absolutely no idea if this would be possible. To find an answer to the question why we and everything around us exists is really confusing in my opinion and all I really can do is doing some thought experiments that are super intersting to do but at the same time kind of overwhelming. Still it is a lot of fun for me and hearing from others what they think about that kind of question is super exciting as well! :)

THATS EXACTLY WHAT I'VE BEEN THINKING! Like, maybe we're all different neurons among one big brain inside someone/thing extraordinary. And maybe when that woman said "you are nothing but a feeling"... She meant that each person represents a feeling/sensation/emotion among one being. Maybe our feelings are really just microfeelings making up just one simplified feeling. But what feeling am I? Or you? And if we are only micro organisms within one being, what is the galaxy?

Or was I just high as fuck basing everything on a long shot?

Have you watched the netflix series Black Mirror? Alot of it is based on simulation theories haha its really neat. I couldn't agree more those who do not question who we are or where we came from are dull and slow in my opinion. There are so many theories it's so overwhelming... I tried to go back to that vortex for months and never could. I kept a coloring book I'd write my thoughts down in crayon while I huffed nitris and whippits. Everytime I reached an answer, or thought I did... It was "Confusion" .... Maybe that was just the drugs. LOL I've found taking psychedelics really opens the mind to exploring new ideas, thinking outside of the box, having real spiritual experiences. Mushrooms teach you that you are one with the earth while Acid shows you are one with people... It gives you a sort of spiritual, "There's gotta be more than this" feeling.

I'm not sure if you experiment with drugs. I've always seen them as keys to other demensions, keys to the brain. There's something fascinating about the way our minds can be one way and then 20 minutes after injesting something a switch is flipped and everything's altered. That switch, it's the neatest thing to me, and the doors to the brain they open allow for more self learning than most give credit for. If you use them right they can be very therapeutic.

It is starting to get strange because our thoughts are so similar, I had the exact same idea:D
No I haven't watched Black Mirror but it sounds like a show that should check out, thanks for the recommendation!
Actually I have never taken any other drugs than the alcohol which is pretty normal. But in this case I find it more destructing because my brain kind of stops working properly when I drink alcohol (and I tend to forget A LOT even when I don't drink a lot. This is something I really hate and often keeps me away from drinking...).
I read this really often that those psychedelics you talk about can open up your mind for new things on a spiritual level but besides that I am still not quite sure if I dare to take something like that, I have no idea where to get that stuff from. Everybody in my surroundings ''just'' drinks and smokes (the common things) so I don't know anybody who is experienced in that area.

I'll bet if you ask some stoner friends you'll find some (: it's very important to be with the right people. Energy becomes something that takes control of your trip, so you need to be surrounded by the purest ones. Not the party type, go for the friends you sit and talk about the universe with. You'll both benefit (: its better to do them with someone whose experienced it themselves so they can help guide you away from any negative holes you may suck yourself into otherwise. Most stoners are down with mushrooms. "Theyre natural" lol

Dude, on a serious note I can't even imagine the art you'd come up with on a psychedelic brain. You'd be extraordinary. Its almost like you can take a blank wall and project the image you have in your head directly onto the blank canvas and trace it with your pencil. All with your mind. I swear, they give us keys to parts of our brains we normally can't open.

That sounds like a dream of mine because it is nearly impossible to get my drawings even close to what I imagine them to be. Well, I guess if the opportunity should come my way at some point I propably won't say no to it :D

I think sometimes it's scary .... and humbling, to realise that the world perceived by others can be SUPER different to how I see and feel about it :O I try to keep an open mind and appreciate other people's perspectives... though sometimes it is hard hahaha~

I like the picture also * ___ * that blue sky against the snow mountains is very lovely <3 and the ski slopes are just waiting to be explored * ___ *

upvotes

I feel the same way about keeping an open mind. Not always easy but always trying :D thanks a lot for your nice words, I really appreciate it! :)

Some really great questions. Your article definitly triggers me, reminding me to keep thinking 'outside the box' . Thanks for the inspiration inga ! Will follow you in case you'll come up with some answers ;)

Thanks a lot! It is definitely something I will continously think about but right now I am still mostly confused by my thoughts :D But if I happen to get some answers I promise to share them ;)

Sounds like a deal ! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86