You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Believe The Government Invented Bitcoin

in #realisation7 years ago

It's interesting that you mention the internet, because I was going to mention that also. The names we use, inter-net and world wide web seem to hint at the original intent was always to capture information. If I had developed the internet, knowing what it does, I feel I would sooner have called it something like the information grid, or communications matrix. Why the need for the words net and web which allude to this sense of trapping or capturing something?

Now, with that in mind, I wonder why the thing we refer to as a blockchain is referred to as a blockchain? Knowing what function this technology serves, would this be the name you would have come up with if you were not looking for it? It seems an interesting decision to call the packets of data "block," and the word chain being used here over string or another word that doesn't imply a type of bondage, also seems rather deliberate.

And, all of us honest people who have not much to hide gain greatly from its existence.

I thoroughly disagree with this. I hope that you will read the post I am about to write and then we can continue this discussion and see if you still feel the same way about that statement.

Sort:  

Oh yes, I too have reservations about the statement, but I am looking at it from the biggest perspective. In the short run, many people will be hurt by the state. But, in the long run, the honest do not need to fear the truth.

I will read your next post, as long as I have internets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60606.72
ETH 2910.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44