Dealing With Tedium - Creating a Consumer Database

in #realestate7 years ago

I’m currently in the process of creating a database of contacts that I’ve been working on for the last two months as time permits. The first thing I’m realizing is I had no idea how many people I know. Just by going through my phone, piles of business cards in rubber band stacks, social media contacts, email lists and old emails I don’t use anymore, I’m still pulling up data. It was good advice from my new firm to put all the people I know into what they call your “sphere of influence”. At the same time, it’s a bit of a tedious task to catalog that much information, when in reality, I’ll probably only do business with 10-20% of the names I have saved, and it will be repeat business.

But as soon as your tempted to skip over a contact, my past experience is that the one person that you thought wouldn’t produce anything but casual conversation sends you business when you least expect it. I tend to be a little impatient with organizing when I already know how I want to approach the business. My strengths are most likely going to lie in private projects limited to a small circle of people, and possibly learning how to monetize advice I have to share from my past experiences.

It’s a bit frustrating because it seems like I might be wasting time, as this database assignment is structured for a beginning realtor open for business to the general public, when I’m already experienced in private investors that want me to create a profitable project, and I’ll get repeat business from them on my reputation. As I put my name out, I’m finding a lot of people don’t really understand all the phases of real estate, and that I don’t plan on being the typical picture of a realtor. If there’s a silver lining, what I think I can do with knowing so many people is create a second database of realtors that I can refer customers to, and simply get the referral fee. Doing a little research has revealed that good, refined databases of solid customer contacts can be bought and sold. Just thinking out loud...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55