What Are Some Key Indicators of Success?

in #realestate6 years ago

I did a podcast interview with Chris Waters who owns a real estate brokerage. Chris and I talked about how he has become a huge success as a real estate brokerage. He said one interesting thing about successful agents, which I think can be transfered to most any proffession.

Chris said that he will spend a lot of time interviewing and vetting potential new agents. He usually finds about four agents who interview well and who appear they will be successful. However, only one of those people will become successful.

The truth is that most people do not have the work ethic to be successful. Here are the reasons that Chris says three out of four potential agents do not last 30 days with him.

  1. One agent will not realize how much qork it takes to be successful and will quit right away.

  2. Another agent will show up to work every day and do the work for a week or two. Then they will miss a day or two as they lose their initial excitment.

  3. Finally one agent will show up to work, do the work, and make it the full 30 days. The problem is that they will not listen to anything they are taught. They will pretend to listen and act as if they are learning, but will just do their own thing and never implement anything they are taught.

One agent will show up, do the work, and be coachable. I have experienced this same phenemonen in my business. I will hire people who I think will be amazing, but you never know for sure until they do the work. Most people are not willing to do the work that it takes to be successful.

Here is the podcast Chris did: https://investfourmore.com/2018/05/10/podcast-149-creating-a-million-dollar-real-estate-team-with-christopher-watters/

I am also reading his book which is fantastic so far. https://amzn.to/2KaFV5H

It is an awesome resource especially as I am starting my own brokerage.

IMG_20180526_083057_456.jpg

Sort:  

Most people care about money and assets. I would say success is having time, money and assets. I think time is underrated. Most people have to spend a lot of time doing work they do not enjoy so they can make the payments on their assets.

Very true. I value my time more than anything. it usually takes hard work to get in a position where you can create time

Nice post. That fits with the turnover rate of most agents as well.

When I worked as a manager in a sales call center, most often my best agents were people who had never worked in a call center before. The ones who had worked in other sales call centers, often had bad habits from those call centers/campaigns that they brought with them, and were always harder to coach.

I find that same thing to be true in real estate!

People who enter real estate often do so for the money. It can be a lucrative business, if you know what you are doing! The problem is, anyone starting out will not know what they are doing and will not allow others to help them. On top of that, many people do not enjoy the actual work behind a sale, and are only looking for a commission. Our field just happens to attract the wrong people, occasionally.

Yes, it does attract the wrong people in many cases.

Hi,

Good point about most people not willing to put in the effort.

I know from my profession, to succeed I always have to go to the extra miles to succeed.

Hei @investfourmore You Have done amazing job for us.... thank you for share success key.

If We Found every successful people background then I'm dam sure that we found theirs follow some Rules.

This rules is theirs success key i think.

It is true. What you said applies to all fields. Many people are not humble enough to be coachable. They already think they know it all.

Yes, all the time!

Perseverance is key. 2 weeks is such a short time to lose excitement.

I know, but it happens all the time

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

minnowbooster upvote in the amount of $78.36 STU, $105.23 USD.

For a total calculated value of $78 STU, $105 USD before curation, with a calculated curation of $20 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43