Is it Better to be a Real Estate Investor or Real Estate Agent?

in #realestate7 years ago (edited)

I have been an agent and investor for over 15 years. I was lucky that my dad helped me get started in the business, but I also had to find my own niche before I became super successful. My niche as an agent was listing REO properties, or bank foreclosures. I also love to flip houses and buy rentals whenever I can. I get a lot of questions from my blog and social media about being an agent or an investor, and which is better. I can tell you that there is no right answer, but maybe I can help you make the decision of which is better for you.

Why focus is the most important thing no matter what you do

Whether you want to be an investor or agent. It is extremely important that you focus on one or the other. People see everything that I am doing and think that would be cool to have a real estate team, be an agent, flip houses, have rentals, and a blog. Well, I did not do it all at once. I focus on one aspect at a time, built that business to run by itself for the most part and then moved on to something new.

One of the best ways to stumble in your career is to try to do too many things at once. Nobody wants to work with someone who is mediocre at 100 different things. They want to work with someone who is awesome at one thing, the thing they need help with at that moment.

If you want to be an agent, be an agent 100 percent. If you want to be an investor, be an investor 100 percent, at least in the beginning.

https://investfourmore.com/2014/09/12/how-one-thought-can-help-you-focus-and-be-successful/

How much money can real estate agents make?

The average salary for real estate agents in the United States is around $35,000 a year. That salary can be very misleading.

-Most agents are part-time and not full-time.
-Most agents have no clue what they are doing.
-Most agents do not have the proper training or supervision to succeed.

If you want to be a full-time real estate agent and are willing to work hard at the business. You can make much more than $35,000 a year. If you stick to it and find a mentor it is not hard to make $100,000 or more a year. In fact, there really is no ceiling to how much you can make. You can create a team, start a brokerage, and do many other things to make money as an agent.

https://investfourmore.com/2014/07/21/make-one-million-dollars-year-real-estate-agent/

How much money can you make investing in real estate?

Real estate investors can make a lot of money as well. You can make money flipping, wholesaling, renting houses, or even buying notes. the articles below go into more detail on how much you can make in each genre.

https://investfourmore.com/2013/04/14/how-much-money-can-you-make-from-rental-properties/
https://investfourmore.com/2014/03/20/much-money-can-make-fix-flipping-homes/
https://investfourmore.com/2015/07/19/how-much-money-can-you-make-as-a-real-estate-wholesaler/

The trick with making money investing in real estate is you usually need money to make money. You can start wholesaling without a lot of money, but it takes time and hard work. It will also take time and hard work to make money as a real estate agent.

I sold 26 flips last year and made over $600,000 on them after all my expenses including paying my staff. That was a pretty god year, but I have been doing this for 15 years.

Which is better, being an agent or investor?

I personally like being an investor better, because I have control over everything. I do not have to meet people, show houses, market, or do other agent activities. However, when I was selling a lot of houses as an agent, it was great for my career. Being an agent gave me a huge advantage as an investor and I loved the challenges.

My career has progressed, but I think being an agent was a great stepping stone to being a better investor.

If you want to be an investor or agent here are some things to think about:

-Are you looking for a career or part-time work?
-How much money do you have now?
-What are your goals? Make a lot of income, or create passive income for life?

If you have no money and want a career, being an agent first might be the best choice. If you become a successful investor it will probably make sense to become an agent at some point to save money on commissions and get more deals.

https://investfourmore.com/2017/04/13/podcast-96-pros-cons-real-estate-agent-investor/

Sort:  

I'm a young guy trying to do the same. Dad is a developer and I'm a realtor. I've been able to invest in some new builds but I also like representing buyers and helping them find their perfect house. I also like the investing side better, but will always keep my license. It saves me 3% on every house because that is the percentage of most commission payouts here. Sometimes it can even be 6% if I represent both the buying and selling side.

Yes, being an agent and investor is a huge advantage! Nice work

Thanks Mark @investfourmore ! Really interesting. I think being an Agent is something that anyone who has hustle and motivation can be successful at.

My cousin does it and has only a HS education. After starting from the bottom, he got in with a big builder in Nashville. Building over $1,000,000 homes. My cousin had an exclusive with him and was making %5 selling houses left and right.
Pretty sweet !!

Thanks again for the post
upvote follow bunny.gif.

That is great! Getting in with a builder can be huge

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 4.94% vote... I was summoned by @investfourmore! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

This post has received gratitude of 2.46 % from @appreciator thanks to: @investfourmore.

You got a 3.71% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @investfourmore!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 0.98% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @investfourmore!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 2.07 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @investfourmore.

You got a 19.99% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @investfourmore!

This post has received a 8.43% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @investfourmore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83