The Hunt : Is Over

in #realestate7 years ago (edited)

20171211_120357.jpg

I've never really had a home.

At the very beginning home was our house in the Philippines. Then we move to Australia and was at one stage living under someones house with my whole family my grandfather included.

I didnt have my own room until year 8 and that was in a unit we were renting in Hornsby back in the day.

Mum and Dad bought a house about a year later and that was home for a while until it wasn't (long long bitter story I might tell you guys about later).

Then I moved out, had a baby, relationship break down, moved back closer to Mum and Dad, more crap, more moving.

Then I met Hubby and then again more moving., until finally we moved up here. We lived in our almost "dream home" when we first came up, and we are in our "nightmare" house at the moment.

Despite that, the mountains still feel like home more than any other place than our old house in the Philippines.

The moment we came here it always felt like we belonged here.

The nearest ley line in NSW is going through Katoomba. It's no accident that we are here and our journey up and settling here had full support from all areas.

Our lives changed the moment we moved here.

Somebody pinch me!


A week ago we were stressed out to the max getting our legend of a conveyancer to go through the contract before we signed it and transfered the deposit.

Today I'm so relieved to say we have just been to meet with our Building and Pest Inspector at the house and he gave us the thumbs up.

Yes there are a couple of retaining wall issues that may need to be addressed in about 10 years but even if it failed now the house itself will remain where it is.

That's all we needed to know.

More pics of our forever home.


Now that the inspections are done we won't get to see this house until mid January so we took our fill of the views and proceeded to take more photos.

This reminded me of the Bad Reno house and the terraced steps they had there. Though I feel much safer walking here than the steep steps at Bad Reno.

20171211_120535.jpg

A shot of the path from the stair leading up to the front door. Can you feel how high we are?

20171211_122642.jpg

The moment we walked in the house I went straight to the kitchen.

I didn't actually walk into the kitchen at the first inspection and we put an offer in without knowing if it had an oven or not. Imagine how pleased I was to see that it did have an oven.

20171211_120310.jpg

It was a deceptively roomy kitchen. Though I would love more bench space but that's easily fixed.

20171211_120327.jpg

Of course I couldn't walk through this house without taking a photo of the money shot and thinking that tree has to go. Not only is it blocking my view its also so close to the house it's just not safe as per the 10/50 rule we have up here.

20171211_120338.jpg

To give you scope of our view...

If you can see the brown handrail from the top photo...

That's the same handrail as the photo below and goes right along the side of the house.

20171211_121714.jpg

And all along the side of the property, over 1000sqm worth which was our target size.

20171211_123351.jpg

Then what's even more amazing is half our backyard is flat. The only photo I took that showed both sides is the very first photo at the top so here it is again 😊

20171211_120357.jpg

Here's the flat bit from the other end of the property.

20171211_121411.jpg

Here's the slope bit.

20171211_120819.jpg

But this is one of the biggest selling points of this house.

20171203_132243.jpg

A place for either a self contained apartment/man cave.

It's amazing how this house has delievered almost our entire wish list. Sure I don't have an ensuite but Ill happily swap it for the 180 degree views we have at this house. Sure it's a filtered 180 but still, everywhere you walk on this property there's a view to the right.

We only have 1 true neighbor and he's halfway down his 2000 something sqm block. Everyone else is below us.

I took more view shots (all from the back yard) hoping this will sustain me throughout the next couple of weeks.

20171211_123326.jpg

20171211_123624.jpg

20171211_122609.jpg

I'm hoping everything goes smoothly from here on in and we'll be able to move in to our house on schedule or early in Jan next year.

I'm looking forward to sitting on that deck with that view before me as I write the day's Steemit post.

Dreams do come true people.
Keep dreaming big 🌟

❤ Arly

Sort:  

Congratulations and what a beautiful view! 😍 Hope the move goes well in 2018 😁

Oh momi 180 degrees view!!!! I dream big and that porch is mine!!!

It's all yours lola! But you might want to sleep under the stars, were closer to heaven up here ;)

Will bring banig then😄😄😍

Looks magic :)
I knew you'd land the right place. So glad to see it happening for you.

Thanks @mattclarke!!! It's a great feeling to have finallu found it.

That's awesome!! Your long search and frustrations finally delivered you your home. Congratulations!

Cheers @bmj!!! Its good to have the weekends back too! No more hunting! 🙌

Wow. . @bearone your new house was great like country living

You have a beautiful spot picked out - I know you are going to love it. We spend many trips looking for the perfect place and we have a gorgeous spot picked out and bought - we just need to be able to tie up all of our affairs and move out there - will probably be several years - in the meantime, we plan to put in the infrastructure like roads, septic and well. We start with the roads next year.

Let me know if your one true neighbor decides to put their property up in the market. Haha

Hahah I will. But I don't know if that guy has a view, he could at the back, but he'll lose what he gets from our side when we put a proper fence up :D

Nice place, let me visit? Ahahaha

Yeh! Go with @SteemPh when they come over!

Sure sure hehe!

give you scope of our view

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62