You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Section 8 Housing: Is it worth it?

in #realestate6 years ago

wow I have never heard it from a landlord's side but thanks for that. I am SO happy to hear you decided to give Section 8 a try. I wish more people would take a chance on it. There is such a stigma against people for getting government assistance and low income people in general. I think there's a drastic distortion of the low income community but no one takes the time to look into it. I have been waiting on Section 8 waitlist just to get a voucher for almost 10 years now - not even guaranteed one yet let alone a place. If I ever scored that voucher I would never jeopardize losing it lol

Then beginning was a bit discouraging to think there's a huge X put on my back when I do actually obtain a voucher from my state - but so I'm happy you changed your mind and i hope other landlord's out there will take a page from your book :-D

Sort:  

WOW! 10 years?? That's insane!! I had no idea the wait could be that long - I mean - I've heard of people waiting for like 3 years, but I think you won the award for longest in line. I guess it's safe to say that if you ever get approved - you will protect your status come hell or high water....

I'm usually a trendsetter - so if I'm accepting Section 8 , there's a good chance several other investors are giving it a shot too...there is a page on their website that has a listing of all the apartments available that accepts Section 8 - so when you do get your approval be sure to check out their website and keep an eye out for that - might save you some time and heartache....best of luck to you

3 years? wow what state are you in? Mass tells you the list is 9+ year wait and even New Hampshire is a 5+ wait list :-[ maybe it's an east coast thing.. I don't know lol I have never heard of a website with rental lists over here either.. Mass has a website to check if your app is actively waiting but that's it, they leave the renter to find a place all on their own over here.
Thank you for your well wishes! And all the best to you too!

there could be people who wait much longer than three years - but as my article indicates -I really hadn't dealt with too many tenants with Section 8 so I could be completely misinformed on how long it takes to get approved for it - I just know that a couple people I spoke to said they'd been waiting for s few years - but I never expected that it could take such a long process.

yeah, unfortunately I think it's a lack of vouchers to begin with plus once people get them they keep them for years so there isn't much movement lol oh well -using three quarters of your monthly income on rent isn't that bad, once you learn to get by with close to nothing - which isn't a bad thing as most people have more junk than they'd ever really need anyways ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52