You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Paper Or Digital: The Power Of Reading

in #reading6 years ago

Interesting... and so true. Although I received my masters in 2001, I had to take a class on multi-cultural counseling last year and decided to buy the digital form of the text book to save money. I regretted it not only due to the scrolling issue (trying to do a last minute study of a chapter before an exam was difficult), I also like to highlight and take notes in my text books. This is something that can be a tedious task in digital form. Furthermore, I definitely remember things better when I write them down versus typing them out. At the risk of sounding like an old codger who is reminiscing about the good old days, I am a Xer who had the privilege of coming of age without smart phones. I agree that new technology does not always mean it makes things better. A perfect example is Bluetooth speakers and storing music digitally. I regret getting rid of my old stereo system which I feel was far superior in sound.

Sort:  

@zheimberg Same here! Just went back to school and got digital books... annoying, tedious. Have to log into site every time to access them since there only rentals. I agree about writing down vs. typing. I remember way more when I had write notes and such. Maybe it's the act of forming the letters with your hands? I like tech, but the reality of most of the technology floating around is that most of it isn't needed. I mean, smart-phones. What do most people do with their smart phones anyway? Take pictures of themselves or take pictures of someone in peril while they watch and record. Does someone really need an Alexa to retrieve a movie or change a channel or order crappy food? No, you don't. But hey, that's where we're going!

Wall-E is probably going to come true. But there won't be any floating chairs. Before long, humans will be too overweight to move around, so humans will just stay in their houses and do everything virtually. Robots will deliver food, clean the house, wipe dirty asses...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67