You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Words and Bubbles

in #reading5 years ago (edited)

Lol, sounds very recognizable. I read just about anything too (including instructions on shampoo bottles).

I used to read only horror stories (big fan of the old work of Stephen King), but a couple of years ago, someone gave me a tip about a series of books: 'Earth's Children' by Jean M. Auel. This person mentioned it was a series of prehistorical fiction novels, which turned me off completely.

But hearing other people's opinions, I got curious. So I decided to give it a try - although prehistorical fiction is (was) not really my cup of tea.
I started reading 'The Clan of the Cave Bear', and before I was even halfway through, I knew that it had been such a mistake to get turned off initially. I read all 5 first books in no time, then had to wait 10 years for number 6 to be published. Read it, and fell completely in love again, so I started over, lol.

That taught me that I shouldn't judge a book by its cover (or theme). Ever since, I've been more open-minded about potentially good books.

It would have been such a shame if I had missed out on this awesome series, only because I had prejudice.

=======================================================

By the way, I noticed you didn't source your image in this post. It's pretty important to do so every time

Sort:  

If you waited 10 years for a book and weren't disappointed, I am wondering how absolutely brilliant it must have been. Perhaps I will give it a try.

I've always been able to read a lot of different content, but the hardest for me to digest is politically inclined work, like the Book of Kings. It was so difficult to get through but I can totally say that, along with moments where I struggled to understand what was happening, there were parts were I honestly enjoyed myself and learned a ton.

It's all helpful in the end, I believe. All of it, no matter how dry.

Posted using Partiko Android

True, but I do like to enjoy myself when reading :0)
Tried the Christian Bible once, but got lost after chapter 1 or so.

I almost always read fiction, just because I want to have fun. One of the few non-fiction books that turned my world upside down was 'The Healing Power Of Illness' by Thorwald Dethlefsen & Rudiger Dahlke.

It's been almost 20 years ago that I read it, but it completely changed my point of view on things, on life. Review
It was dry and complicated sometimes, but I struggled my way through and it opened a whole new world. I love it when a book can do that :0)

If you waited 10 years for a book and weren't disappointed, I am wondering how absolutely brilliant it must have been. Perhaps I will give it a try.

I didn't really wait, lol. The 5th book was published in 2002. That's about the time that I read the entire series. I thought the story had been told.
But then she published book number 6 in 2011...It was a big surprise.

And I could pick up just like that again. It felt like not even a year had passed since I read the other ones.
(My girlfriend read all 6 one after another, and she says that the 6th book repeats a lot of the story that was told in the earlier books. Probably the reason why I could pick up the story again s quickly)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65348.61
ETH 3557.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45