Reading is to the mind, what exercise is to the body

in #reading7 years ago

I recently started reading and I realized how much I loved reading after I read all of the twilight books and fifty shades books. It had been since high school till I picked up a book. I can tell you that it is such a stress reduction, weather your stressed about work, or personal relationships it all just slips away when you lose yourself in a great book. I love to just get lost in a good story and forget everything for a while.

bath-988502_1280-mswros6ine15tducnctjlcbh77zruom1stubjptp28-msxoq5aqcm6keq83lgr6l7kgr1rnj6b1bmw8c2cbvk.jpg

Not only is it a great stress reliever but you gain knowledge and it expands your vocabulary. I feel like the more I read the more words I gain exposure to and they make there way into my everyday vocabulary. It helps me use big words and helps build up my self esteem, being well spoken is a great help in any profession.

Vocabulary.jpg

I've learned that if you cant fall asleep at night just pick up a book and start reading and it puts you right to sleep, at least it does me. Its like the people who cant fall asleep unless the tv is on well reading is a better healthier way for me.

A cool little fact is that it improves your memory not so sure that it has helped mine but maybe I just haven't been reading long enough hahaha. But when you read you have to remember all the characters, their backgrounds and history and so on well every new memory you create causes brain pathways that are called synapses and strengthens existing ones.

confused-child.jpg

So yeah I am working on finding great books to read if anyone has any suggesting's on books I would love to hear them. Here is my new book shelf that I just got and I am ready to fill it up with books.

20217301_10158974139580858_1638452733_n.jpg

Sort:  

I love Lee Child's Jack Reacher series! If you've seen the movies, forget about Tom Cruise as Jack Reacher and read the books. You'll be so much more entertained!

I am also a huge fan of The Game of Thrones books by George R. R. Martin. I read all of the books before the series was released on HBO and have been desperately waiting for the next book to be released!

The HBO Series is pretty great also, but left out tons of detail (these books are dense) and the series is now ahead of the books (off-book).

I've heard a lot about games of thrones must be really good

If you are a fan of Castles, Kings, Knights, Dragons, and a bit of magic, Game of Thrones is something you should definitely check out. If not, you're not really missing anything :)

yep the book are always better than the movies seems like

This is a serious case of terrible casting. Jack Reacher is 6ft 5inches tall and 250 lbs of natural muscle. Tom Cruise is half of that on his best day.

I used to read a lot of business and sales books when I was with the telephone company. Right now I am doing a lot of audio of the Bible.

Yeah I know that feeling......lol My problem is I just cant stop reading a book once I start.
So many great books to read and just to hop up a chair outside and read......great feeling.
Great post. Followed upvoted

yes! its the same for me has to be a really good book though and thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59374.25
ETH 2544.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47