A dog's purpose - Book review and a short summary

in #reading7 years ago (edited)

I'm the kind of person who would rather read the book than the movie.
I'm a dog lover and after a lot of hype the movie was generating I thought I would rather read the book, so I picked it up yesterday and finished reading it just a few minutes before(at the time of writing.)
This is my first attempt at a review post so please bear with me.
The summary might have spoilers!


A brief summary

images (6).jpg

"A Dog's Purpose" is a book by W. Bruce Cameron. In the story as stated by the title itself we come across the story of a dog finding his purpose in this world.
In the story, the dog goes through four lives, learning something new in each one of them.
In his first life, where he was named Toby, he is a stray who was pretty soon rescued and taken to a shelter. He lives there for quite sometime but it doesn't work out and sadly his life ends there.
In his second life as Bailey, he is found and adopted by a woman where he meets a boy Ethan. He spends many joyous years with him after which his time is finally over. Though he seems he has fulfilled his purpose, he infact hadn't.
In his third life, she is adopted by a policeman Jakob and named Ellie. Yes she was a female this time. In this life she is trained as a K-9 unit and learns to save and rescue people. But Jakob is injured on one such mission and she works with Maya after that. This time too when she is near her death, she feels her purpose is fulfilled and she would be free from the cycle of birth and death but there was a last thing for her to do.
On his fourth and final life, he is bought by Derek as a gift to his girlfriend who soon sends him to live with her mom. Her mom's boyfriend abandons him when he is finally reunited with Ethan, his boy.
His purpose is finally fulfilled.


The review

As a dog lover myself, I enjoyed the book very much. Even someone who doesn't like dogs would enjoy the story.
What I liked the most was that the whole book was through the dog's point of view. The author has written it so beautifully it feels that the dogs is actually telling the story.
It makes us connect with how the dog feels through his life and the various situations it faces.
One more thing I liked was that the dog could understand and feel the various human emotions.
Overall I enjoyed it thoroughly.
On a scale of 1 to 10 I would give it a score of 9.
And I would definately recommend this book to someone.


Thanks for reading. Follow me for more!

Sort:  

I just did a quick scan read as you warned of spoilers, but sounds like it is worth the read.

Definately worth it!

Oh I made the kids in school do a book review on this book. Afterwards they had to compare the book and the movie. What a great book to read and the movie was excellent!

I have not watched the movie yet but yes the book was awesome!
Thanks for stopping by here. Appreciate that!

awesome writing. upvoted with my team already :)

Thanks.
What team bro?

with some of my friends also :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74