A visit to the bookstore & Books that I bought

in #reading7 years ago

If you have been following my "blog" posts you would remember me visiting the bookstore, Crossword, last time but having had to return empty handed as there weren't much books on offer.

I do not mind purchasing them at the original rate, but I rarely do that. I usually try to get them online first. The online books normally have a 15-40% discount offers usually. I also pick up books from Amazon Used books section for like throwaway prices. I also visit bookstores and pick up books up when they have really great offers.

Picking them at the original rate from bookstore happens, when I can't wait for the 1-2 day delivery time for online orders.

So I today I visited Crossword once again.

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-13 at 16.03.53.jpg

And I did what I always do. Spent a good one hour just browsing and walking around the store, taking in the sweet smell of thousands of tales. Tales of love, tales of horror, tales of suspense and tales that makes it worth spending our time on this planet.

After that one hour, I went to the "discounted" section where my purchase will happen. There were a lot of books on sale this time and I finally zeroed in on "The Millennium Series" by Stieg Larsson

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-13 at 16.02.33.jpg

I have always wanted to read this series, hearing what I have heard about this. I picked up all three books for 450 INR which quite a good deal.

I have started reading the first book but for people who know me, I have a problem. I tend to read multiple books at a time which means I end up taking a lot more time to finish anything.

This is also my problem while watching TV series.

Anyhow, off to reading "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" now. Bye buh!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mydivathings to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Books are often better than their screen versions. But in this case, more vivid impressions for some reason left the film.
But in the case of "Cloud Atlas" and "Room" films did not like at all, and books - masterpieces.
I respect reading people! Good luck and peace to all of us.

I have not watched the movie yet for this. In fact for all movies that have a book version, I always wait till I read the book first before watching the movie.

It would be interesting to know your book and film preferences.

Good choice :) I enjoyed reading Larsson a lot. Have fun!
In Germany we have a thing which is called "Buchpreisbindung". It controls the price of every book. So the price doesn't differ between the shops and also not between Amazon and local shops. So I can be sure, that whereever I am, the book costs the exact same price. Therefore I enjoy buying my books at local stores an support them thereby.

Oh I see. That is quite a good thing then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79