All That is Gold Does Not Glitter, Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost

in #reading6 years ago

photo4945224696530577357.jpg

I just finished reading Book One of the Lord Of The Rings to my children. We've been reading a chapter most nights. A few nights ago, this bit of verse in Gandalf's letter caught my attention and has stayed in my mind:

All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.
From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.

The character of Strider, or Aragorn, that these verses are about is mysterious and I enjoy how the story slowly gives you more insight into who he is. Someone who walks the wild lands with confidence and who remembers the past that most have forgotten or never known.


I have been enjoying reading more, but it also causes me to be thoughtful and questioning of where I am now and what I am doing. Tolkien's writing, as it was designed to do, makes me feel a longing for another place. Though, it also reminds me that our own world is wonderful and full of mystery.

Until next time,

-- @matthewdavid

Sort:  

I love that poem! (as I do about every other poem in LOTR).

If you want a reason to appreciate Tolkien even more, that poem is a play on Shakespeare's "All that glitters is not gold." No one can say that Tolkien wasn't well educated :D

I used to want to be Aragorn so bad. Totally my role model back in the day...

Ok, he still is.

Hey, if you shave your beard can I have it?

Ha! I'll take that as a compliment.

I gave up razors for life, so no chance that it will be shaved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29