read 30 books this year

in #reading5 years ago (edited)

try now.jpg

Hi Steemfam,

Today I want to write a brief post about reading. Often at the beginning of a new year we set goals, and for many of us these include the amount of books we will read. This year I plan to read at least 30 books. That might seem like a lot, but it really isn't. My general goal is to read three books a month, which puts me over 30 already.

Here are a few suggestions on how to read at least 30 books this year.

Develop your Passion

For me, this year will be heavy on the business and entrepreneurial side of things. That is ok. This is an area I am more and more interested in, and want to know and grow in. There is a passion behind this pursuit. I have noticed that when I take specific themes or categories and make them my priority, I get a lot more done.

For instance one year I dedicated the bulk of my reading to philosophy. I even did a course on coursera. I focused also primarily on two specific authors (C.S. Lewis and Francis Schaeffer). It proved to be a helpful decision. I also read in other areas (partly due to the nature of my work), but I made philosophy a focus.

What are you interested in? Chances are there is an area that you want to explore on a deeper level. Be it for work or personal growth. Start there and let that be the bulk of what you read. This will ensure your passion level is high about what you read.

Devise a Plan

Next you need to determine what books you want to read and when. For instance, you might rotate them on a daily basis. Or you might just determine to read books x,y,z this month and so on. The point is to do what works best for you and and is the most effective. Maybe even join a reading challenge and log your books on Goodreads.com to help you see your progress.

It is also helpful to keep your current books with you and accessible for moments of downtime, like riding the train and so on. I was amazed one year at how much reading I was able to accomplish just on the ride to and from work.

There it is. A short and simple strategy that will help you achieve your reading goals in 2019.

Sort:  

Great goal! I always have several books going, so whenever I have some time I choose the book that fits--heavy nonfiction for a big block of time, biography or novel for little bits of found time.

I have always struggled with novels unfortunately. A good biography can be very inspiring though! happy reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85